facebook Enter-button not working Topic is solved

Support and discussions for the x86/x64 Linux version of Pale Moon and specific Linux distribution questions related to the browser.

Moderator: trava90

Forum rules
If your question is about general use of the browser and not specific to Linux, then please use the General Support board.
catch22

facebook Enter-button not working

Post by catch22 » 2016-04-02, 09:04

Version: 26.1.1 (x64) on LinuxMint 17.3 Cinnamon.

On Facebook typing a comment should work with either Enter or Control-Enter, right?
Here it doesn't react on either correctly - it creates a new line instead, as in a text editor.

I disabled all my addons to see which one could be interfering - it's none, so I have no idea why this is not working.

I'm new to Pale Moon btw and love it.
It is frustrating though that I left Firefox behind me after being a fan for years, just because of similar Facebook hickups.

EDIT: and then sometimes the Enter *does* work correctly :wtf: so I just found out.

Andrew Gilbertson

Re: facebook Enter-button not working

Post by Andrew Gilbertson » 2016-04-04, 11:55

Sounds like your computer is not picking up the Key Up event on the Shift key for some reason - I think it's a hardware problem, as I've run into occasionally over the years; rather than a problem with Pale Moon. If it recurs - try hitting the Shift key a few times to see if that causes it to go away.

catch22

Post by catch22 » 2016-04-04, 17:55

AndyTheAbsurd wrote:Sounds like your computer is not picking up the Key Up event on the Shift key for some reason - I think it's a hardware problem, as I've run into occasionally over the years; rather than a problem with Pale Moon. If it recurs - try hitting the Shift key a few times to see if that causes it to go away.
It works normal in the Vivaldi browser, so it's not hardware related.
The Shift key trick isn't working.