Working with multiple browser windows

Support and discussions for the x86/x64 Linux version of Pale Moon.

Moderators: trava90, satrow

User avatar
Nigaikaze
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1121
Joined: 2014-02-02, 22:15
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Re: Working with multiple browser windows

Post by Nigaikaze » 2020-01-15, 12:25

Aube Bleue wrote:
2020-01-15, 06:50
The item (as well as a few others) only appears when the menu is accessed with the keyboard; when clicking on the menu, it's hidden.
yellowfinch wrote:
2020-01-15, 12:13
And I’m sure I’ve never encountered this principle in the Windoze world.
Just tried it myself and yes, the behavior is the same in Windows.
Nichi nichi kore ko jitsu = Every day is a good day.

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 25414
Joined: 2011-08-28, 17:27
Location: 58°2'16"N 14°58'31"E
Contact:

Re: Working with multiple browser windows

Post by Moonchild » 2020-01-15, 12:26

It's in the UI code, it applies to all operating systems.

Maybe we should redesign the menu and have a new main category "Window" with all window/tab operations permanently there. It's certainly a problem with expectance the way it is now, but I don't feel like having those entries permanently in the File menu makes sense and it clutters it with irrelevant entries for pointer use (which is obviously the reason Mozilla decided to hide the entries).
"If you want to build a better world for yourself, you have to be willing to build one for everybody." -- Coyote Osborne
Image

bgstack15
Moonbather
Moonbather
Posts: 60
Joined: 2018-01-22, 23:04

Re: Working with multiple browser windows

Post by bgstack15 » 2020-01-15, 13:01

I just tried; PM 28.6.1 (wow, didn't realize I was that behind). Every menu (File, Edit, View, History, Bookmarks, and Tools) except Help shows additional options when opened with the relevant keystroke. And upon using any keystroke to open a menu, all the menus can be navigated with the cursor and will show the full set of options.

User avatar
therube
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1136
Joined: 2018-06-08, 17:02

Re: Working with multiple browser windows

Post by therube » 2020-01-15, 13:39

The item (as well as a few others) only appears when the menu is accessed with the keyboard
Ah, thanks. (I also never realized.) :-)

User avatar
New Tobin Paradigm
Off-Topic Sheriff
Off-Topic Sheriff
Posts: 6490
Joined: 2012-10-09, 19:37
Location: Sector 001

Re: Working with multiple browser windows

Post by New Tobin Paradigm » 2020-01-15, 13:53

This is what I have in Borealis's File Menu.. It would be more logical I believe to have the various "New" items under a sub-menu rather than window controls. The contextual difference is if there is one tab or multiple tabs per window.

c725651d-771e-44e3-95fa-4b9e99691761.jpg
4ae9e54f-1694-4710-887f-5ad52f573cb9.jpg
4ae9e54f-1694-4710-887f-5ad52f573cb9.jpg (74.2 KiB) Viewed 128 times

Dunno, if that helps in decision making.

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 25414
Joined: 2011-08-28, 17:27
Location: 58°2'16"N 14°58'31"E
Contact:

Re: Working with multiple browser windows

Post by Moonchild » 2020-01-15, 14:07

I also remember it being like that before. I'm guessing it was changed since the "new" items were some of the most-used options in that menu and having it directly there does save a keystroke.
"If you want to build a better world for yourself, you have to be willing to build one for everybody." -- Coyote Osborne
Image

User avatar
Aube Bleue
Moonbather
Moonbather
Posts: 62
Joined: 2015-11-13, 03:36
Location: Québec

Re: Working with multiple browser windows

Post by Aube Bleue » 2020-01-15, 20:36

Glad I could shed some light, people.
« L’homme qui aime normalement sous le soleil [Firefox], adore frénétiquement sous la lune [Pale Moon]. » – Guy de Maupassant

Post Reply