Why would PM's Print feature omit most of a web page?

Users and developers helping users with technical Pale Moon issues (Windows and other non-Linux O.S.). Please direct questions about the Linux version to the appropriate Linux board.

Moderator: trava90

Forum rules
This board is for technical/usage questions and troubleshooting for the Pale Moon browser only. The main focus here is on Pale Moon on Windows. Please direct your questions for Linux, Android and Mac to the dedicated boards.
Technical issues and questions not related to the Pale Moon browser should be posted in "technical chat"
Please keep off-topic and general discussion out of this board, thank you!
context
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 194
Joined: 2012-07-22, 18:56
Location: USA Texas

Why would PM's Print feature omit most of a web page?

Post by context » 2020-03-22, 17:24

I've occasionally used PM's Print feature to capture an entire web page to a PDF (Printer = Microsoft Print to PDF).

But I've recently found pages that truncate after the first display page ... so I get a 3-page PDF that's mostly header and footer pages. Only the middle page is content.

What might cause this? And is there a solution? Further, is there any way for a PM user (maybe with a user-written script) to locate and display the scrollable content of a page? (which has to exist somewhere on a PC ... like maybe in \Cache2?)

I'll also mention that until a year ago I was using Screengrab (fix version) that would reliably capture a PNG copy. However, that add-on is no longer available.

Thanks in advance for any help.

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 26673
Joined: 2011-08-28, 17:27
Location: 58°2'16"N 14°58'31"E
Contact:

Re: Why would PM's Print feature omit most of a web page?

Post by Moonchild » 2020-03-22, 17:40

I'm afraid this will only get worse over time as pages become structured less like documents.

What you can try is use an extension to make "visual" snapshots of the page as-rendered and print it that way (e.g. fireshot)
"There will be times when the position you advocate, no matter how well framed and supported, will not be accepted by the public simply because you are who you are." -- Merrill Rose
Image

User avatar
New Tobin Paradigm
Off-Topic Sheriff
Off-Topic Sheriff
Posts: 7203
Joined: 2012-10-09, 19:37
Location: Insulting you on the internet.

Re: Why would PM's Print feature omit most of a web page?

Post by New Tobin Paradigm » 2020-03-22, 17:45

Who prints web pages in this day and age?
Image
I'll send him cheesy movies! The worst I can find!
He'll have to sit and watch them all and we'll monitor his mind!

https://binaryoutcast.com/ | Freenode #binaryoutcast | http://thereisonlyxul.org/

User avatar
LAR Grizzly
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 195
Joined: 2017-08-11, 16:49
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Re: Why would PM's Print feature omit most of a web page?

Post by LAR Grizzly » 2020-03-22, 17:47

New Tobin Paradigm wrote:
2020-03-22, 17:45
Who prints web pages in this day and age?
The OP: context
Win7 Pro SP1 64 Bit
Comodo Internet Security
Pale Moon 28.9.3, Interlink Mail 52.9.7433, Firefox 52.9.0esr, Thunderbird 52.9.1 and SeaMonkey 2.48

User avatar
Tomaso
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1457
Joined: 2015-07-23, 16:09
Location: Norway

Re: Why would PM's Print feature omit most of a web page?

Post by Tomaso » 2020-03-22, 17:59

Simply use "Print Preview", and adjust the size until everything is covered.
That's what I do.
..or doesn't that work for your PDF solution?

User avatar
ron_1
Moon Magic practitioner
Moon Magic practitioner
Posts: 2179
Joined: 2012-06-28, 01:20

Re: Why would PM's Print feature omit most of a web page?

Post by ron_1 » 2020-03-22, 18:11

Isn't there an old Mozilla printing bug that's never been fixed? I seem to remember some such.

P.S. I still occasionally print web pages.

context
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 194
Joined: 2012-07-22, 18:56
Location: USA Texas

Re: Why would PM's Print feature omit most of a web page?

Post by context » 2020-03-22, 18:15

Simply use "Print Preview", and adjust the size
I tried that, early on. It shows the same 3 pages.

Regarding why I ever do this: I occasionally find pages that have useful current information ... but which can change at any time ... news sites, for example. Page captures are the only way I've found to "freeze" the content.

Thanks for the responses.

User avatar
Kathuluforz
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 231
Joined: 2019-06-13, 13:42
Location: Montana

Re: Why would PM's Print feature omit most of a web page?

Post by Kathuluforz » 2020-03-22, 18:28

Well if you don't need it in PDF but similar try Microsoft XPS Document writer (it is available in my PM print choice's) I just used it on this page and it worked rather well especially since my first time using it *new to me.
Pale Moon 28.9.3 (64) Win7 pro (64)

"People will come to love their oppression, to adore the technologies that undo their capacities to think." ~ Aldous Huxley
"Complete Safety is Illusory" ~ Me

User avatar
Andrew Herbert
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 102
Joined: 2019-11-25, 21:46

Re: Why would PM's Print feature omit most of a web page?

Post by Andrew Herbert » 2020-03-22, 19:11

context wrote:
2020-03-22, 17:24
I'll also mention that until a year ago I was using Screengrab (fix version) that would reliably capture a PNG copy. However, that add-on is no longer available.
Classic Add-ons Archive: caa:addon/screengrab-fix-version

context
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 194
Joined: 2012-07-22, 18:56
Location: USA Texas

Re: Why would PM's Print feature omit most of a web page?

Post by context » 2020-03-22, 19:24

use an extension to make "visual" snapshots of the page
Well, I've tried Fireshot ... and it's very close (and fast). It can also save as a PDF ... which is a very worthwhile feature.

It works fine on most sites. But it didn't pick up most of the images from the particular site I happened to be working with, today.

Next, I'll try restoring Screengrab from the classic archive.

Thanks for these suggestions.

context
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 194
Joined: 2012-07-22, 18:56
Location: USA Texas

Re: Why would PM's Print feature omit most of a web page?

Post by context » 2020-03-22, 19:35

A clarification on Fireshot:

By scrolling to the bottom of the web page and then clicking the "S" icon, all images were captured by Fireshot (Lite). (I suppose it's some caching issue.)

Regardless, kudos to the developer for providing a working and worthwhile add-on.

Attronarch
Hobby Astronomer
Hobby Astronomer
Posts: 15
Joined: 2016-03-21, 12:35

Re: Why would PM's Print feature omit most of a web page?

Post by Attronarch » 2020-03-23, 07:27

context wrote:
2020-03-22, 18:15
Simply use "Print Preview", and adjust the size
I tried that, early on. It shows the same 3 pages.

Regarding why I ever do this: I occasionally find pages that have useful current information ... but which can change at any time ... news sites, for example. Page captures are the only way I've found to "freeze" the content.

Thanks for the responses.
One of the tools I use for such purpose is ScrapBook X: https://addons.palemoon.org/addon/scrapbook-x/

Once you save a page in it you can clean it up (e.g. delete ads and all visual clutter) with the DOM Eraser tool.

User avatar
Giraffe
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 303
Joined: 2016-11-09, 11:57

Re: Why would PM's Print feature omit most of a web page?

Post by Giraffe » 2020-03-23, 15:49

Andrew Herbert wrote:
2020-03-22, 19:11
context wrote:
2020-03-22, 17:24
I'll also mention that until a year ago I was using Screengrab (fix version) that would reliably capture a PNG copy. However, that add-on is no longer available.
Classic Add-ons Archive: caa:addon/screengrab-fix-version
Thanks! Works well.
Windows 7 Pro 32-bit. Comodo Internet security or Comodo Firewall + Avira Anivirus.

User avatar
RoestVrijStaal
Moonbather
Moonbather
Posts: 52
Joined: 2019-06-19, 19:18
Location: Dependency Hell

Re: Why would PM's Print feature omit most of a web page?

Post by RoestVrijStaal » 2020-03-24, 22:54

Andrew Herbert wrote:
2020-03-22, 19:11
Classic Add-ons Archive: caa:addon/screengrab-fix-version
context wrote:
2020-03-22, 19:24
Well, I've tried Fireshot ...
(...)
Next, I'll try restoring Screengrab from the classic archive.
Attronarch wrote:
2020-03-23, 07:27
One of the tools I use for such purpose is ScrapBook X: https://addons.palemoon.org/addon/scrapbook-x/
You all won't need an addon for generating a "screenshot" of the webpage at all.

The developer toolbox has a screenshot function. It's a small button (unfortunately) of a photocamera. If you can't see it, check the developer tools settings.

Depending on the page, it takes a while till it has a png exported, but it still does the job :)

context
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 194
Joined: 2012-07-22, 18:56
Location: USA Texas

Re: Why would PM's Print feature omit most of a web page?

Post by context » 2020-03-25, 19:28

The developer toolbox has a screenshot function. It's a small button (unfortunately) of a photocamera.
Sounds good ... only I can't locate it. Is it under Web Developer?

User avatar
RoestVrijStaal
Moonbather
Moonbather
Posts: 52
Joined: 2019-06-19, 19:18
Location: Dependency Hell

Re: Why would PM's Print feature omit most of a web page?

Post by RoestVrijStaal » 2020-03-25, 19:35

context wrote:
2020-03-25, 19:28
The developer toolbox has a screenshot function. It's a small button (unfortunately) of a photocamera.
Sounds good ... only I can't locate it. Is it under Web Developer?
Likely
86d1de81889972221c328a47d8abbaa7.png
86d1de81889972221c328a47d8abbaa7.png (8.61 KiB) Viewed 172 times

context
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 194
Joined: 2012-07-22, 18:56
Location: USA Texas

Re: Why would PM's Print feature omit most of a web page?

Post by context » 2020-03-25, 20:04

Well, something is very different. My web tools don't look like that.

Any idea why?
Web Tools.PNG
Web Tools.PNG (1.62 KiB) Viewed 155 times

context
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 194
Joined: 2012-07-22, 18:56
Location: USA Texas

Re: Why would PM's Print feature omit most of a web page?

Post by context » 2020-03-25, 20:17

something is very different.
I found out why. It's an optional tool.

Thanks for your suggestion. I never knew there was such a tool.
Tool Setting.png

context
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 194
Joined: 2012-07-22, 18:56
Location: USA Texas

Re: Why would PM's Print feature omit most of a web page?

Post by context » 2020-03-25, 20:48

For anyone following this thread ...

The closest I can come to making this accessible from the main PM window is to activate the Web Console and then size it small. Minimizing the console window leaves it active as a taskbar entry. It then takes two clicks to get a screen shot. Not bad ... but it would be great if the icon could be placed on the PM window.
Web Tool Window.PNG

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 26673
Joined: 2011-08-28, 17:27
Location: 58°2'16"N 14°58'31"E
Contact:

Re: Why would PM's Print feature omit most of a web page?

Post by Moonchild » 2020-03-25, 21:01

I'm sure an extension can be written to issue a command to devtools to activate the feature from a toolbar button.
"There will be times when the position you advocate, no matter how well framed and supported, will not be accepted by the public simply because you are who you are." -- Merrill Rose
Image

Post Reply