Keeping a dictionary set?

Users and developers helping users with technical Pale Moon issues (Windows and other non-Linux O.S.). Please direct questions about the Linux version to the appropriate Linux board.

Moderators: trava90, satrow

Forum rules
This board is for technical/usage questions and troubleshooting for the Pale Moon browser only. The main focus here is on Pale Moon on Windows. Please direct your questions for Linux, Android and Mac to the dedicated boards.
Technical issues and questions not related to the Pale Moon browser should be posted in "technical chat"
Please keep off-topic and general discussion out of this board, thank you!
User avatar
Tharthan
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 232
Joined: 2019-05-20, 20:07
Location: New England

Keeping a dictionary set?

Unread post by Tharthan » 2019-06-20, 18:30

(I don't know if this ought to go here or under some other board, but I'm putting it here because it seems to make the most sense)

This is a much more simple question than my usual ones:

How does one keep a dictionary set within the browser (for spell-checking)?

In my case, the spelling that I use is closer to Commonwealth English (the English of the Commonwealth of Nations) spelling than to the Websterian-derived spelling currently standard in my country, for a number of reasons (some historical to my area and family, others personal).

So I have the British English dictionary installed in my browser (despite not speaking British English, and thus not using most British English-specific words, I would think) for purposes of the function that it plays in spell-checking.

Nevertheless, the spell-checker often reverts to prescribing Websterisms and the like irrespective of how many times that I set it to the other dictionary.

How do I change this permanently? It's quite irksome to have a word that I am not misspelling nevertheless have a red squiggly line under it for no good reason over and over and over again.

Falna
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 345
Joined: 2015-08-23, 17:56
Location: UK / France

Re: Keeping a dictionary set?

Unread post by Falna » 2019-06-20, 20:58

I use Dictionary Switcher (from the Classic Add-ons Archive) to toggle between dictionaries. In addition to manual toggling, it will try to detect the language of each website and switch to the corresponding dictionary and, if you manually change it, it will remember for your next visit.

yami_
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 505
Joined: 2018-04-26, 11:05

Re: Keeping a dictionary set?

Unread post by yami_ » 2019-06-20, 21:05

Pale Moon has a preference called spellchecker.dictionary.override that can be used to force a specific dictionary.
cat came back from Berkeley waving flags -- rob pike

User avatar
Konrad
Moonbather
Moonbather
Posts: 71
Joined: 2018-11-17, 18:19

Re: Keeping a dictionary set?

Unread post by Konrad » 2019-06-20, 21:21

A word might be simply missing in the dictionary of the spellchecker that you use. You can add such a word to your spellchecker; the word will be saved in the file called persdict.dat.
What spellchecker do you use? If I am not mistaken, the best tool for British English is maintained by Marco Pinto. You can install the legacy version. Both WebExtension and Legacy Extension employ one and the same dictionary.

User avatar
Tharthan
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 232
Joined: 2019-05-20, 20:07
Location: New England

Re: Keeping a dictionary set?

Unread post by Tharthan » 2019-06-20, 22:57

yami_ wrote:
2019-06-20, 21:05
Pale Moon has a preference called spellchecker.dictionary.override that can be used to force a specific dictionary.
How do I modify this the right way?
Konrad wrote:
2019-06-20, 21:21
A word might be simply missing in the dictionary of the spellchecker that you use. You can add such a word to your spellchecker; the word will be saved in the file called persdict.dat.
I can assure you that this is not the case. Whenever I spell a word normally that has different spellings depending on whether one uses a spelling system that rejects or supports the Websterian spelling changes, it automatically marks the unaltered spelling as incorrect, and suggests the Websterian spelling instead.

yami_
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 505
Joined: 2018-04-26, 11:05

Re: Keeping a dictionary set?

Unread post by yami_ » 2019-06-21, 14:53

Tharthan wrote:
2019-06-20, 22:57
How do I modify this the right way?
You need to set this preference to [ISO 639-1 alpha-2 language code]-[ISO 3166-1 alpha-2 country code]. For example in this notation US English in called en-US and British English is called en-GB.
cat came back from Berkeley waving flags -- rob pike

User avatar
Tharthan
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 232
Joined: 2019-05-20, 20:07
Location: New England

Re: Keeping a dictionary set?

Unread post by Tharthan » 2019-06-21, 19:53

yami_ wrote:
2019-06-21, 14:53
Tharthan wrote:
2019-06-20, 22:57
How do I modify this the right way?
You need to set this preference to [ISO 639-1 alpha-2 language code]-[ISO 3166-1 alpha-2 country code]. For example in this notation US English in called en-US and British English is called en-GB.
So "[ISO 639-1 alpha-2 en]-[ISO 3166-1 alpha-2 GB]" (do I keep the square brackets, by the way?) or "[en-GB]"?

yami_
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 505
Joined: 2018-04-26, 11:05

Re: Keeping a dictionary set?

Unread post by yami_ » 2019-06-21, 20:02

No. Just "en-GB". ISO 639-1 alpha-2 is a standard for two char language codes and ISO 3166-1 alpha-2 is a standard for two char country codes. I guess that something like [insert ISO 639-1 alpha-2 code here]-[insert ISO 3166-1 alpha-2 code here] would be more obvious.
cat came back from Berkeley waving flags -- rob pike

User avatar
Tharthan
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 232
Joined: 2019-05-20, 20:07
Location: New England

Re: Keeping a dictionary set?

Unread post by Tharthan » 2019-06-21, 20:31

yami_ wrote:
2019-06-21, 20:02
No. Just "en-GB". ISO 639-1 alpha-2 is a standard for two char language codes and ISO 3166-1 alpha-2 is a standard for two char country codes. I guess that something like [insert ISO 639-1 alpha-2 code here]-[insert ISO 3166-1 alpha-2 code here] would be more obvious.
Thanks. I've set it to "en-GB".

If it doesn't work, I'll respond back within a day. If not, this thread can be closed.

User avatar
New Tobin Paradigm
Off-Topic Sheriff
Off-Topic Sheriff
Posts: 5685
Joined: 2012-10-09, 19:37
Location: Sector 001

Re: Keeping a dictionary set?

Unread post by New Tobin Paradigm » 2019-06-21, 21:40

if that doesn't work then remove your dicts and try the ones temporarily hosted at repository.binaryoutcast.com those have their language codes normalized thanks to kn-yami. WHO SHOULD BE ON IRC BUT ISN'T anyway.. ye.
Image
- The universe is a spheroid region, 705 meters in diameter. -
http://binaryoutcast.com/ | http://thereisonlyxul.org/

yami_
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 505
Joined: 2018-04-26, 11:05

Re: Keeping a dictionary set?

Unread post by yami_ » 2019-06-21, 22:20

Off-topic:
New Tobin Paradigm wrote:
2019-06-21, 21:40
WHO SHOULD BE ON IRC BUT ISN'T
Yeah...
cat came back from Berkeley waving flags -- rob pike

User avatar
Tharthan
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 232
Joined: 2019-05-20, 20:07
Location: New England

Re: Keeping a dictionary set?

Unread post by Tharthan » 2019-06-21, 22:44

New Tobin Paradigm wrote:
2019-06-21, 21:40
WHO SHOULD BE ON IRC BUT ISN'T
Off-topic:
I miss IRC being everywhere. Now it's mostly just tech-related sites. It's such a useful means of (essentially) instant textual communication.

On the other hand, I don't miss "the information superhighway". That was extremely silly, in hindsight. However, to be fair, since such a new and amazing technology was being presented to a public that was quite unfamiliar with it, it makes sense why such silly "hype"-sounding words were used. I suppose there is a slight similarity to the "There's an App For That" (*cringes*) commercials back when the "smart device" first reared its ugly head into view (or, more accurately, became popular [since the devices had been around for a few years already before that]).

/me frowns.

User avatar
New Tobin Paradigm
Off-Topic Sheriff
Off-Topic Sheriff
Posts: 5685
Joined: 2012-10-09, 19:37
Location: Sector 001

Re: Keeping a dictionary set?

Unread post by New Tobin Paradigm » 2019-06-21, 23:07

Off-topic:
Why don't you join me on freenode #binaryoutcast.. There is also a #palemoon but I am not always there these days.
Image
- The universe is a spheroid region, 705 meters in diameter. -
http://binaryoutcast.com/ | http://thereisonlyxul.org/

User avatar
Tharthan
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 232
Joined: 2019-05-20, 20:07
Location: New England

Re: Keeping a dictionary set?

Unread post by Tharthan » 2019-06-22, 00:55

New Tobin Paradigm wrote:
2019-06-21, 23:07
Off-topic:
Why don't you join me on freenode #binaryoutcast.. There is also a #palemoon but I am not always there these days.
Off-topic:
I'll certainly consider it, Sheriff. :)

User avatar
Fedor2
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 655
Joined: 2016-04-11, 01:26

Re: Keeping a dictionary set?

Unread post by Fedor2 » 2019-06-26, 10:17

Spellchecks dictionaries are located in the dictionaries browser folder. Look there and certainly you find en-US.aff en-US.dic, you can put there any other dictionaries by two similar files. spellchecker.dictionary.override is to set according the file name.

If you told to set ISO 639-1 alpha-2 language code then that filename must have match this, but this is not necessary. For eхample i use two language dictionary: filename russian-english such i set in the spellchecker.dictionary.override.
Last edited by Fedor2 on 2019-06-26, 10:22, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
New Tobin Paradigm
Off-Topic Sheriff
Off-Topic Sheriff
Posts: 5685
Joined: 2012-10-09, 19:37
Location: Sector 001

Re: Keeping a dictionary set?

Unread post by New Tobin Paradigm » 2019-06-26, 10:18

Do not listen to him. Never alter files in the application directory of Pale Moon. Not only will they be wiped out by updates but unless you know what you are doing.. And you don't. It can cause many many issues such as corruption and loss of data.
Image
- The universe is a spheroid region, 705 meters in diameter. -
http://binaryoutcast.com/ | http://thereisonlyxul.org/

User avatar
Fedor2
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 655
Joined: 2016-04-11, 01:26

Re: Keeping a dictionary set?

Unread post by Fedor2 » 2019-06-26, 10:29

wiped out by updates
why?
many many issues such as corruption and loss of data.
If this is really true i shall stop to do the practice. Please give me anyone example of the issue which cause was dictionary files put in the application folder?

User avatar
New Tobin Paradigm
Off-Topic Sheriff
Off-Topic Sheriff
Posts: 5685
Joined: 2012-10-09, 19:37
Location: Sector 001

Re: Keeping a dictionary set?

Unread post by New Tobin Paradigm » 2019-06-26, 10:31

Uhhhhhhhhhh No.
Image
- The universe is a spheroid region, 705 meters in diameter. -
http://binaryoutcast.com/ | http://thereisonlyxul.org/

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 24238
Joined: 2011-08-28, 17:27
Location: 58°2'16"N 14°58'31"E
Contact:

Re: Keeping a dictionary set?

Unread post by Moonchild » 2019-06-26, 10:46

DO. NOT. ALTER. ADD. OR. REMOVE. ANYTHING. IN. THE. APPLICATION. FOLDER.

Installing dictionaries is done by using the normal add-on installation method (XPI) which places them in the correct location (your profile).
City of Heroes public server: https://www.moonshard.org/ -- Vote for it on cohservers.com

"If you want to build a better world for yourself, you have to be willing to build one for everybody." -- Coyote Osborne
Image

User avatar
Tharthan
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 232
Joined: 2019-05-20, 20:07
Location: New England

Re: Keeping a dictionary set?

Unread post by Tharthan » 2019-06-26, 14:50

No worries.

Altering spellchecker.dictionary.override worked perfectly fine, and it hasn't changed back since I modified it.

I think that the problem is solved, and this thread can be closed.

Post Reply