Can't login to my router

Users and developers helping users with technical Pale Moon issues (Windows and other non-Linux O.S.). Please direct questions about the Linux version to the appropriate Linux board.

Moderators: trava90, satrow

Forum rules
This board is for technical/usage questions and troubleshooting for the Pale Moon browser only. The main focus here is on Pale Moon on Windows. Please direct your questions for Linux, Android and Mac to the dedicated boards.
Technical issues and questions not related to the Pale Moon browser should be posted in "technical chat"
Please keep off-topic and general discussion out of this board, thank you!
User avatar
arky217
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: 2018-09-11, 20:00

Can't login to my router

Unread post by arky217 » 2018-10-16, 01:28

Running Palemoon 28.1 on MX Linux 17.1.
My computer specs are:

Code: Select all

System:    Host: mxonhp Kernel: 4.15.0-1-amd64 x86_64 bits: 64 Desktop: Xfce 4.12.3 
           Distro: MX-17.1_x64 Horizon March 14  2018 
Machine:   Type: Desktop System: HP product: 550-110 v: 1.00 serial: <root required> 
           Mobo: HP model: 2B2C v: 1.01 serial: <root required> BIOS: AMI v: A0.02 
           date: 07/03/2015 
CPU:       Topology: Dual Core model: Intel Core i3-4170 bits: 64 type: MT MCP 
           L2 cache: 3072 KiB 
           Speed: 2105 MHz min/max: 800/3700 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 998 2: 1000 3: 998 4: 998 
Graphics:  Device-1: Intel 4th Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics driver: i915 
           v: kernel 
           Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.19.2 driver: modesetting unloaded: fbdev,vesa 
           resolution: 1920x1080~60Hz 
           OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Haswell v: 3.3 Mesa 13.0.6 
Audio:     Device-1: Intel Xeon E3-1200 v3/4th Gen Core Processor HD Audio driver: snd_hda_intel 
           Device-2: Intel 8 Series/C220 Series High Definition Audio driver: snd_hda_intel 
           Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.15.0-1-amd64 
Network:   Device-1: Broadcom Limited BCM43142 802.11b/g/n driver: wl 
           IF: wlan0 state: up mac: d8:5d:e2:ad:4e:c5 
           Device-2: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet driver: r8169 
           IF: eth0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: 74:85:2a:1a:16:5d 
Drives:    Local Storage: total: 1.02 TiB used: 12.89 GiB (1.2%) 
           ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: SanDisk model: SDSSDA120G size: 111.79 GiB 
           ID-2: /dev/sdb vendor: Seagate model: ST1000DM003-1ER162 size: 931.51 GiB 
Partition: ID-1: / size: 47.81 GiB used: 12.89 GiB (27.0%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1 
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 11.93 GiB used: 0 KiB (0.0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda5 
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 29.8 C mobo: 27.8 C 
           Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A 
Repos:     Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/antix.list 
           1: deb http://iso.mxrepo.com/antix/stretch stretch main
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/debian-stable-updates.list 
           1: deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ stretch-updates main contrib non-free
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/debian.list 
           1: deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ stretch main contrib non-free
           2: deb http://security.debian.org/ stretch/updates main contrib non-free
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/mx.list 
           1: deb http://mxrepo.com/mx/repo/ stretch main non-free
           No active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/various.list 
Info:      Processes: 221 Uptime: 37m Memory: 11.66 GiB used: 808.5 MiB (6.8%) Shell: init 
           inxi: 3.0.25 
I don't have a problem logging in to any site except my own router.
It always says wrong password when using Palemoon.
I have to start Chromium to login to the router.
(The password is not saved on either browser)
Any idea why this could be ?

peiner
Moongazer
Moongazer
Posts: 8
Joined: 2017-01-21, 18:08

Re: Can't login to my router

Unread post by peiner » 2018-10-16, 05:36

Same problem here with PM 28. When try to login to my router I get "wrong password".
PM 27 (and below) works. My solution is to provide "PM 27 portable" solely for login on my router.

PM 28 has some more issues with sync and password handling. This version isn't the big one.

User avatar
Giraffe
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 235
Joined: 2016-11-09, 11:57

Re: Can't login to my router

Unread post by Giraffe » 2018-10-16, 07:29

I had this with PM 27 and 28. Found out, just by chance, that it needs a referrer (I installed Change Referer Button (sic) from
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... er-button/ or
caa:addon/change-referer-button). When I couldn't, yet again, get in to the router I tried sending a referrer and it worked! Saves having to Open in Firefox.
Windows 7 Pro 32-bit. Comodo Internet security or Comodo Firewall + Avira Anivirus.

User avatar
Isengrim
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 698
Joined: 2015-09-08, 22:54
Location: 127.0.0.1
Contact:

Re: Can't login to my router

Unread post by Isengrim » 2018-10-16, 10:37

What is the router brand and model?
Linux Mint 18.3 Cinnamon (64-bit)
Windows 7 (64-bit) (Sometimes)
Windows 10 build 1803 (64-bit) (Sometimes)
We are our choices.

User avatar
therube
Keeps coming back
Keeps coming back
Posts: 907
Joined: 2018-06-08, 17:02

Re: Can't login to my router

Unread post by therube » 2018-10-16, 15:51

@Giraffe,

Just what referer is being sent, are you sending?

And you mean to say that if you manually type 192.168.1.1 into the address bar, your router page won't open?

Were you also getting the wrong password message?

RJARRRPCGP
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 231
Joined: 2015-06-22, 19:48
Location: USA (North Springfield, Vermont)

Re: Can't login to my router

Unread post by RJARRRPCGP » 2018-10-16, 16:00

Login of my Technicolor DWA1230 is strange, I can confirm it's the browser, unless it's the combo of the browser and uBlock Origin, despite I set uBlock origin to disable.
It will stay stuck where the login button says "Verifying" (or similar) and if I hit refresh, I'm logged in, LOL. This problem don't occur with Firefox ESR 60.2.1 nor 60.2.2.

User avatar
Isengrim
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 698
Joined: 2015-09-08, 22:54
Location: 127.0.0.1
Contact:

Re: Can't login to my router

Unread post by Isengrim » 2018-10-16, 17:00

Have you tried using Safe Mode or a new, temporary profile? (Sometimes disabling add-ons is not enough.) Do you see any messages in the error console?
Linux Mint 18.3 Cinnamon (64-bit)
Windows 7 (64-bit) (Sometimes)
Windows 10 build 1803 (64-bit) (Sometimes)
We are our choices.

User avatar
Giraffe
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 235
Joined: 2016-11-09, 11:57

Re: Can't login to my router

Unread post by Giraffe » 2018-10-18, 12:04

therube wrote:@Giraffe,

Just what referer is being sent, are you sending?

And you mean to say that if you manually type 192.168.1.1 into the address bar, your router page won't open?

Were you also getting the wrong password message?
403 Forbidden
Illegal Referer.
micro_httpd

Is what I get - I use a bookmark for it, as the 192.168.1.1 goes to the router's address.
Windows 7 Pro 32-bit. Comodo Internet security or Comodo Firewall + Avira Anivirus.

yami_
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 425
Joined: 2018-04-26, 11:05

Re: Can't login to my router

Unread post by yami_ » 2018-10-18, 15:06

My guess: this devices HTTP server does not allow accessing the login page if the referer HTTP header is not set to some other page hosted by that server. In this case it would probably count as a security feature.
Last edited by yami_ on 2018-10-18, 15:07, edited 1 time in total.
cat came back from Berkeley waving flags -- rob pike

User avatar
satrow
Forum staff
Forum staff
Posts: 1736
Joined: 2011-09-08, 11:27

Re: Can't login to my router

Unread post by satrow » 2018-10-18, 16:29

Check through the documentation for your router, some offer a non-IP address option to access the router by a 'friendly'-type name.

User avatar
therube
Keeps coming back
Keeps coming back
Posts: 907
Joined: 2018-06-08, 17:02

Re: Can't login to my router

Unread post by therube » 2018-10-18, 17:50

403 Forbidden
Illegal Referer.
micro_httpd
There's discussion about that with TP-Link routers.
Wasn't clear about a resolution.
Perhaps firmware update?

User avatar
Giraffe
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 235
Joined: 2016-11-09, 11:57

Re: Can't login to my router

Unread post by Giraffe » 2018-10-19, 07:12

Not too worried - as it goes straight in if a referrer is sent, I'm happy.
Windows 7 Pro 32-bit. Comodo Internet security or Comodo Firewall + Avira Anivirus.

RJARRRPCGP
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 231
Joined: 2015-06-22, 19:48
Location: USA (North Springfield, Vermont)

Re: Can't login to my router

Unread post by RJARRRPCGP » 2018-10-22, 00:47

Giraffe wrote:Not too worried - as it goes straight in if a referrer is sent, I'm happy.
Any referrer? Or is it like some of the hosters you probably will encounter?

User avatar
Giraffe
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 235
Joined: 2016-11-09, 11:57

Re: Can't login to my router

Unread post by Giraffe » 2018-10-22, 07:28

I have no idea of the Referrer - I just have it turned on and it works!
Windows 7 Pro 32-bit. Comodo Internet security or Comodo Firewall + Avira Anivirus.

Post Reply