Get rid of search box from quick dial page? Topic is solved

Users and developers helping users with technical Pale Moon issues (Windows and other non-Linux O.S.). Please direct questions about the Linux version to the appropriate Linux board.

Moderators: trava90, satrow

Forum rules
This board is for technical/usage questions and troubleshooting for the Pale Moon browser only. The main focus here is on Pale Moon on Windows. Please direct your questions for Linux, Android and Mac to the dedicated boards.
Technical issues and questions not related to the Pale Moon browser should be posted in "technical chat"
Please keep off-topic and general discussion out of this board, thank you!
User avatar
Ozzed
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 136
Joined: Thu, 08 May 2014, 11:37
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Get rid of search box from quick dial page?

Unread postby Ozzed » Thu, 16 Aug 2018, 14:44

Hi!

Just updated to 28.0 and things seem to work pretty well. My only annoyance is that now there's a search box on the quick dial page and I don't want that. Ia there any way to get rid of it and make it look like it did prior to 28.0? I googled it but haven't found anything. Thank you for your help :)

riiis
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 413
Joined: Sat, 17 May 2014, 15:51
Location: USA

Re: Get rid of search box from quick dial page?  Topic is solved

Unread postby riiis » Thu, 16 Aug 2018, 15:15

Quickdial Tool includes an option to enable/disable the search box. First, install Quickdial Tool. Then, right-click an open area on the Quickdial page. Or, right-click any thumbnail on the Quickdial page. Select "Options" from the context menu.
quickdial-disable-searchbox.jpg

User avatar
Ozzed
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 136
Joined: Thu, 08 May 2014, 11:37
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Get rid of search box from quick dial page?

Unread postby Ozzed » Thu, 16 Aug 2018, 15:19

riiis wrote:Quickdial Tool includes an option to enable/disable the search box. First, install Quickdial Tool. Then, right-click an open area on the Quickdial page. Or, right-click any thumbnail on the Quickdial page. Select "Options" from the context menu.
quickdial-disable-searchbox.jpg


Thanks! That worked :)

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 21946
Joined: Sun, 28 Aug 2011, 17:27
Location: 58.5°N 15.5°E
Contact:

Re: Get rid of search box from quick dial page?

Unread postby Moonchild » Thu, 16 Aug 2018, 15:22

No, the redesign of the quickdial page stands.
Improving Mozilla code: You know you're on the right track with code changes when you spend the majority of your time deleting code.

"If you want to build a better world for yourself, you have to be willing to build one for everybody." -- Coyote Osborne

coffeebreak
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1340
Joined: Sat, 26 Sep 2015, 04:51
Location: U.S.

Re: Get rid of search box from quick dial page?

Unread postby coffeebreak » Thu, 16 Aug 2018, 20:21

It can also just be hidden with CSS, see: https://forum.palemoon.org/viewtopic.php?f=63&t=19518#p144371

Goodydino
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 318
Joined: Tue, 10 Oct 2017, 21:20

Re: Get rid of search box from quick dial page?

Unread postby Goodydino » Thu, 16 Aug 2018, 23:05

It sounds as if Quickdial is a part of version 28, and you get that with a new tab. Is there a way to get a blank tab with a new tab with PM 28?

coffeebreak
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1340
Joined: Sat, 26 Sep 2015, 04:51
Location: U.S.

Re: Get rid of search box from quick dial page?

Unread postby coffeebreak » Thu, 16 Aug 2018, 23:17

It's the same settings as PM 27.

To disable the quickdial page:

Code: Select all

browser.newtabpage.enabled = false

For a completely blank page:

Code: Select all

browser.newtab.url = about:blank

riiis
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 413
Joined: Sat, 17 May 2014, 15:51
Location: USA

Re: Get rid of search box from quick dial page?

Unread postby riiis » Fri, 17 Aug 2018, 05:11

Goodydino wrote:It sounds as if Quickdial is a part of version 28, and you get that with a new tab. Is there a way to get a blank tab with a new tab with PM 28?

"about:newtab" is and has long been an internal page in both Pale Moon and Firefox. "about:newtab" is called the Quickdial page in Pale Moon, and "about:newtab" is called "new tab page" in Firefox. Select what you want as a new tab in the "tabs" pane of Pale Moon preferences.
select-newtab.jpg

Note that selecting "A blank page" provides a mostly blank page "about:logopage", rather than a completely blank page "about:blank". You can also get a blank page by selecting "The Quickdial page" from the drop-down menu. Then open the Quickdial page. Then, click the button at the upper-right of the Quickdial page to toggle between the Quickdial grid page and a blank page. You can also create a custom new tab page by entering its url in the preference "browser.newtab.url" in "about:config". The custom page could be the url of a webpage, "about:blank", or a locally stored image file.

Goodydino
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 318
Joined: Tue, 10 Oct 2017, 21:20

Re: Get rid of search box from quick dial page?

Unread postby Goodydino » Fri, 17 Aug 2018, 20:36

I already had about:blank set up, so that is fine. I shall not have to change anything.

User avatar
Offset
Hobby Astronomer
Hobby Astronomer
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat, 18 Aug 2018, 21:49

Re: Get rid of search box from quick dial page?

Unread postby Offset » Sat, 18 Aug 2018, 22:02

riiis wrote:Quickdial Tool includes an option to enable/disable the search box. First, install Quickdial Tool. Then, right-click an open area on the Quickdial page. Or, right-click any thumbnail on the Quickdial page. Select "Options" from the context menu.
quickdial-disable-searchbox.jpg

Thanks, that's good. Can you also set the margin declaration for #searchContainer to all zeroes? That would free up a little more space at top. (I use 5 rows.)


Return to “General support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests