Get rid of search box from quick dial page?

Users and developers helping users with technical Pale Moon issues (Windows and other non-Linux O.S.). Please direct questions about the Linux version to the appropriate Linux board.

Moderators: trava90, satrow

Forum rules
This board is for technical/usage questions and troubleshooting for the Pale Moon browser only. The main focus here is on Pale Moon on Windows. Please direct your questions for Linux, Android and Mac to the dedicated boards.
Technical issues and questions not related to the Pale Moon browser should be posted in "technical chat"
Please keep off-topic and general discussion out of this board, thank you!
User avatar
Ozzed
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 169
Joined: 2014-05-08, 11:37
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Get rid of search box from quick dial page?

Unread post by Ozzed » 2018-08-16, 14:44

Hi!

Just updated to 28.0 and things seem to work pretty well. My only annoyance is that now there's a search box on the quick dial page and I don't want that. Ia there any way to get rid of it and make it look like it did prior to 28.0? I googled it but haven't found anything. Thank you for your help :)

riiis
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 439
Joined: 2014-05-17, 15:51
Location: USA

Re: Get rid of search box from quick dial page?

Unread post by riiis » 2018-08-16, 15:15

Quickdial Tool includes an option to enable/disable the search box. First, install Quickdial Tool. Then, right-click an open area on the Quickdial page. Or, right-click any thumbnail on the Quickdial page. Select "Options" from the context menu.
quickdial-disable-searchbox.jpg

User avatar
Ozzed
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 169
Joined: 2014-05-08, 11:37
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Get rid of search box from quick dial page?

Unread post by Ozzed » 2018-08-16, 15:19

riiis wrote:Quickdial Tool includes an option to enable/disable the search box. First, install Quickdial Tool. Then, right-click an open area on the Quickdial page. Or, right-click any thumbnail on the Quickdial page. Select "Options" from the context menu.
quickdial-disable-searchbox.jpg
Thanks! That worked :)

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 23978
Joined: 2011-08-28, 17:27
Location: 58°2'16"N 14°58'31"E
Contact:

Re: Get rid of search box from quick dial page?

Unread post by Moonchild » 2018-08-16, 15:22

No, the redesign of the quickdial page stands.
City of Heroes public server: https://www.moonshard.org/ -- Vote for it on cohservers.com

"If you want to build a better world for yourself, you have to be willing to build one for everybody." -- Coyote Osborne
Image

coffeebreak
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1713
Joined: 2015-09-26, 04:51
Location: U.S.

Re: Get rid of search box from quick dial page?

Unread post by coffeebreak » 2018-08-16, 20:21

It can also just be hidden with CSS, see: https://forum.palemoon.org/viewtopic.php?f=63&t=19518#p144371

Goodydino
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 493
Joined: 2017-10-10, 21:20

Re: Get rid of search box from quick dial page?

Unread post by Goodydino » 2018-08-16, 23:05

It sounds as if Quickdial is a part of version 28, and you get that with a new tab. Is there a way to get a blank tab with a new tab with PM 28?

coffeebreak
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1713
Joined: 2015-09-26, 04:51
Location: U.S.

Re: Get rid of search box from quick dial page?

Unread post by coffeebreak » 2018-08-16, 23:17

It's the same settings as PM 27.

To disable the quickdial page:

Code: Select all

browser.newtabpage.enabled = false
For a completely blank page:

Code: Select all

browser.newtab.url = about:blank

riiis
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 439
Joined: 2014-05-17, 15:51
Location: USA

Re: Get rid of search box from quick dial page?

Unread post by riiis » 2018-08-17, 05:11

Goodydino wrote:It sounds as if Quickdial is a part of version 28, and you get that with a new tab. Is there a way to get a blank tab with a new tab with PM 28?
"about:newtab" is and has long been an internal page in both Pale Moon and Firefox. "about:newtab" is called the Quickdial page in Pale Moon, and "about:newtab" is called "new tab page" in Firefox. Select what you want as a new tab in the "tabs" pane of Pale Moon preferences.
select-newtab.jpg
Note that selecting "A blank page" provides a mostly blank page "about:logopage", rather than a completely blank page "about:blank". You can also get a blank page by selecting "The Quickdial page" from the drop-down menu. Then open the Quickdial page. Then, click the button at the upper-right of the Quickdial page to toggle between the Quickdial grid page and a blank page. You can also create a custom new tab page by entering its url in the preference "browser.newtab.url" in "about:config". The custom page could be the url of a webpage, "about:blank", or a locally stored image file.

Goodydino
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 493
Joined: 2017-10-10, 21:20

Re: Get rid of search box from quick dial page?

Unread post by Goodydino » 2018-08-17, 20:36

I already had about:blank set up, so that is fine. I shall not have to change anything.

Offset
Hobby Astronomer
Hobby Astronomer
Posts: 22
Joined: 2018-08-18, 21:49

Re: Get rid of search box from quick dial page?

Unread post by Offset » 2018-08-18, 22:02

riiis wrote:Quickdial Tool includes an option to enable/disable the search box. First, install Quickdial Tool. Then, right-click an open area on the Quickdial page. Or, right-click any thumbnail on the Quickdial page. Select "Options" from the context menu.
quickdial-disable-searchbox.jpg
Thanks, that's good. Can you also set the margin declaration for #searchContainer to all zeroes? That would free up a little more space at top. (I use 5 rows.)

Locked