Captchas hell

Users and developers helping users with technical Pale Moon issues (Windows and other non-Linux O.S.). Please direct questions about the Linux version to the appropriate Linux board.

Moderators: trava90, satrow

Forum rules
This board is for technical/usage questions and troubleshooting for the Pale Moon browser only. The main focus here is on Pale Moon on Windows. Please direct your questions for Linux, Android and Mac to the dedicated boards.
Technical issues and questions not related to the Pale Moon browser should be posted in "technical chat"
Please keep off-topic and general discussion out of this board, thank you!
raindress
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed, 18 Apr 2012, 07:11
Location: melbourne au

Re: Captchas hell

Unread postby raindress » Sat, 04 Aug 2018, 12:19

have just added a CAPTCHA bypass to Basilisk forum.have been chasing around for some way to knock off these problems but no luck with an extension for palemoon. in google chrome there was an exten:https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/touch-vpn/bihmplhobchoageeokmgbdihknkjbknd which allows change on click & the captcha takes only 1 or 2 clicks. this exten avail for FF but not PM. someone may like to explain or check if they find something similar(without cost!) check out basilisk forum & browser to test & advise the forum,thanks

User avatar
gerrard
New to the forum
New to the forum
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue, 07 Aug 2018, 13:44

Re: Captchas hell

Unread postby gerrard » Tue, 07 Aug 2018, 13:48

fillerup wrote:
Phantom wrote:And it doesn't work.

yep it seems to have broken recently. i'll do some more digging for an alternative later

So it's only a matter of time.

User avatar
Phantom
Banned user
Banned user
Posts: 119
Joined: Sun, 04 Mar 2018, 04:56

Re: Captchas hell

Unread postby Phantom » Sat, 11 Aug 2018, 21:14

I still don't have this captcha issue like everyone else. I mean, I get captchas for certain legit things like creating accounts and such, but after about 4 iterations of the captcha it submits.

If it's not UA related then it's IP related. I can tell you right now a VPN will make it worse.

Harkonnen
Hobby Astronomer
Hobby Astronomer
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue, 04 Nov 2014, 12:27
Location: Kiev, Ukraine

Re: Captchas hell

Unread postby Harkonnen » Tue, 14 Aug 2018, 16:17

The captcha situation in Palemoon is degenerating :(. In the past just clicking "i am nor a robot" was enough ~4/5 times. Currently i am guaranteed to get a captha, and often a 10 pages long one with grainy pictures that ends in "try again"... It is worse with Palemoon on a direct connection with real IP, than on Firefox or Chrome behind a fully anon proxy.

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 22278
Joined: Sun, 28 Aug 2011, 17:27
Location: 58.5°N 15.5°E
Contact:

Re: Captchas hell

Unread postby Moonchild » Tue, 14 Aug 2018, 16:27

Harkonnen wrote:The captcha situation in Palemoon is degenerating :(. In the past just clicking "i am nor a robot" was enough ~4/5 times. Currently i am guaranteed to get a captha, and often a 10 pages long one with grainy pictures that ends in "try again"... It is worse with Palemoon on a direct connection with real IP, than on Firefox or Chrome behind a fully anon proxy.


I can only suggest you complain to Google about this.
Improving Mozilla code: You know you're on the right track with code changes when you spend the majority of your time deleting code.

"If you want to build a better world for yourself, you have to be willing to build one for everybody." -- Coyote Osborne

User avatar
Sajadi
Keeps coming back
Keeps coming back
Posts: 937
Joined: Fri, 19 Apr 2013, 00:46

Re: Captchas hell

Unread postby Sajadi » Tue, 14 Aug 2018, 17:06

Perhaps worth a try for everyone with trouble in combination with Captcha from Google:

Change the user agent override in
about:config

for the Google entries there, but especially
general.useragent.override.google.com

that it uses either the IE11 or Edge user agent:
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/42.0.2311.135 Safari/537.36 Edge/19.10136
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Trident/7.0; rv:11.0) like Gecko

Tested at a page which often requires around 3 solved captchas in Pale Moon - and with both user agents the page worked instantly. Using here Pale Moon 28.

Actually, even when i had to solve more captchas - I never have been seeing more than 3 of the simple ones in most cases.

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 22278
Joined: Sun, 28 Aug 2011, 17:27
Location: 58.5°N 15.5°E
Contact:

Re: Captchas hell

Unread postby Moonchild » Tue, 14 Aug 2018, 20:29

By faking Chrome 42 or IE 11, you will likely also run into issues on many sites that use Google assets (not just google.com) because google WILL serve application-specific code based on user agent that may (probably will) not be fully compatible with Pale Moon.
Improving Mozilla code: You know you're on the right track with code changes when you spend the majority of your time deleting code.

"If you want to build a better world for yourself, you have to be willing to build one for everybody." -- Coyote Osborne

Octopuss
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 447
Joined: Mon, 26 Jan 2015, 13:58

Re: Captchas hell

Unread postby Octopuss » Thu, 16 Aug 2018, 18:39

Does anyone have any idea about the "try again" thing? WHY? Has anyone ever found anything in some logs?

User avatar
Abdulrhman Ayman
Moongazer
Moongazer
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed, 15 Aug 2018, 22:24

Re: Captchas hell

Unread postby Abdulrhman Ayman » Fri, 17 Aug 2018, 03:39

I don't think that this a PaleMoon specific issue, this used to happen to me on Firefox all the time.
Great browser, great community.

brokenweb
New to the forum
New to the forum
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue, 20 Jun 2017, 20:54

UH-OH.

Unread postby brokenweb » Fri, 17 Aug 2018, 09:31

Posting this here because as of the last 24 hours, I have been encountering the absolute worst case scenario. Every. Single. Time.

Image

People are saying that supposedly upgrading to 28.0 can fix the issue. The thing is, I'm very worried about potentially breaking the add-ons I use for both privacy and QoL. And in several profiles I have a lot of important URLs in my tabs that I don't want to lose. Tabs aren't saved after updating.

I've been on 27.3.0 for a while now purely out of risk aversion of breaking or losing something. I had installed from an earlier version than that, so I don't have the tarball for that specific version. (I know I'm posting about the Linux version in the Windows section, but this is a very active topic and there are more eyeballs here.) I won't be able to revert the changes if I update and something important breaks.

What do?

User avatar
Isengrim
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 493
Joined: Tue, 08 Sep 2015, 22:54
Location: 127.0.0.1
Contact:

Re: UH-OH.

Unread postby Isengrim » Fri, 17 Aug 2018, 09:36

brokenweb wrote:What do?

Off-topic:
Depending on your addons, most will function correctly. As for tabs, have you considered saving them as bookmarks or using the Session Manager extension?
Last edited by Isengrim on Fri, 17 Aug 2018, 09:36, edited 1 time in total.
Linux Mint 18.3 Cinnamon (64-bit)
Windows 7 (64-bit) (Sometimes)
Windows 10 build 1803 (64-bit) (Sometimes)
We are our choices.

fillerup
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 443
Joined: Mon, 19 May 2014, 19:14
Location: Finland

Re: UH-OH.

Unread postby fillerup » Fri, 17 Aug 2018, 13:46

brokenweb wrote:What do?

fire up a VM machine, install PM 28 and copy your profile folder over for a test run

Harkonnen
Hobby Astronomer
Hobby Astronomer
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue, 04 Nov 2014, 12:27
Location: Kiev, Ukraine

Re: Captchas hell

Unread postby Harkonnen » Fri, 17 Aug 2018, 18:02

As of today PM 27 get a "please upgrade" instead of captcha. No amount of tinkering with useragent affects this. So this is forced upgrade to PM 28 by google :thumbup:

User avatar
Isengrim
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 493
Joined: Tue, 08 Sep 2015, 22:54
Location: 127.0.0.1
Contact:

Re: Captchas hell

Unread postby Isengrim » Fri, 17 Aug 2018, 18:04

That's strange. I didn't think Google knew or cared about Pale Moon. :wtf:
Linux Mint 18.3 Cinnamon (64-bit)
Windows 7 (64-bit) (Sometimes)
Windows 10 build 1803 (64-bit) (Sometimes)
We are our choices.

User avatar
Abdulrhman Ayman
Moongazer
Moongazer
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed, 15 Aug 2018, 22:24

Re: Captchas hell

Unread postby Abdulrhman Ayman » Sat, 18 Aug 2018, 04:09

Isengrim wrote:That's strange. I didn't think Google knew or cared about Pale Moon. :wtf:


They don't need to, this msg would appear to anyone using a non-mainstream browser I guess.
Great browser, great community.

digitalaudiorock
Hobby Astronomer
Hobby Astronomer
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed, 16 Aug 2017, 14:12

Re: Captchas hell

Unread postby digitalaudiorock » Thu, 23 Aug 2018, 14:57

FFS anyway. I'm using 27.9.4. I've been having issues with this forever but never like this. Now I get a screwy version with check boxes on each image where the verify button gives you a long hash text. It tells you to paste it into a box below, that, but it does nothing, and there's no button to submit that.

Everyone at Google with a hand in this Godless cluster fuck, and anyone who runs a website that uses it really needs to be taken out and publicly castrated.

User avatar
Montclair
Moongazer
Moongazer
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu, 19 Apr 2018, 14:45

Re: Captchas hell

Unread postby Montclair » Thu, 23 Aug 2018, 15:10

As of today, using 27.9.4, I get an un-clickable checkbox, which after a minute or so, changes to images with little checkboxes in them. As stated above, you get a long text code to paste into another box, but there's no submit button, and hitting Enter does nothing.

I'm running on Vista and PM 28 isn't compatible (with no such warning during the upgrade notice, BTW, which sucked because I had to reinstall 27.9.4 after 28 wouldn't launch).

Now what are we supposed to do?

Image
Image
Image
Last edited by Montclair on Thu, 23 Aug 2018, 15:27, edited 2 times in total.

RJARRRPCGP
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 187
Joined: Mon, 22 Jun 2015, 19:48
Location: USA (North Springfield, Vermont)

Re: Captchas hell

Unread postby RJARRRPCGP » Thu, 23 Aug 2018, 15:12

Octopuss wrote:Does anyone have any idea about the "try again" thing? WHY? Has anyone ever found anything in some logs?


I dunno at this time, about the logs, but I get that message often!

coffeebreak
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1371
Joined: Sat, 26 Sep 2015, 04:51
Location: U.S.

Re: Captchas hell

Unread postby coffeebreak » Thu, 23 Aug 2018, 15:20

digitalaudiorock wrote:... a screwy version with check boxes on each image where the verify button gives you a long hash text. It tells you to paste it into a box below, that, but it does nothing, and there's no button to submit that.
Montclair wrote:... today, using 27.9.4, I get an un-clickable checkbox, which after a minute or so, changes to un-clickable images.

@digitalaudiorock, @Montclair - Does this still happen for either of you in safe mode ?

And would you guys please provide some links to sites whose captchas behave this way?

User avatar
Montclair
Moongazer
Moongazer
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu, 19 Apr 2018, 14:45

Re: Captchas hell

Unread postby Montclair » Thu, 23 Aug 2018, 15:30

coffeebreak wrote:@digitalaudiorock, @Montclair - Does this still happen for either of you in safe mode ?

And would you guys please provide some links to sites whose captchas behave this way?


I haven't tried safe mode. Here's a site I use frequently. Just click on any tv show or movie and you'll get the recaptcha

Flixtor

Thanks for any help!

//Edit: I tried safe mode and it made no difference. The issue is still present.
Last edited by Montclair on Thu, 23 Aug 2018, 15:40, edited 1 time in total.


Return to “General support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AhrefsBot [Crawler], Linkdex [Bot] and 14 guests