moving profile from XP 32bit to win7 64bit

Users and developers helping users with generic and technical Pale Moon issues on all operating systems.

Moderator: trava90

Forum rules
This board is for technical/general usage questions and troubleshooting for the Pale Moon browser only.
Technical issues and questions not related to the Pale Moon browser should be posted in other boards!
Please keep off-topic and general discussion out of this board, thank you!
Edkiefer

moving profile from XP 32bit to win7 64bit

Unread post by Edkiefer » 2012-08-25, 17:57

This may sound like dumb question but I am new to 64bit OS . I know how to move profile folder content over from one version or system to another but is there a problem with moving 32bit profile data to a 64bit system . I assume since it is data and not exe or dll its ok, just checking though .

Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru

Re: moving profile from XP 32bit to win7 64bit

Unread post by Moonchild » 2012-08-25, 18:19

There's no problem moving profile data from a 32-bit to a 64-bit system. It would even not be a problem if you move to a 64-bit version of the browser, although for plugin compatibility's sake I do recommend you use the 32-bit version of Pale Moon on your new O.S. (you may be missing some plugin functionality otherwise, e.g. gaming plugins or bank-ID or similar)
"Sometimes, the best way to get what you want is to be a good person." -- Louis Rossmann
"Seek wisdom, not knowledge. Knowledge is of the past; wisdom is of the future." -- Native American proverb
"Linux makes everything difficult." -- Lyceus Anubite

Edkiefer

Unread post by Edkiefer » 2012-08-26, 03:43