hide menu items

Users and developers helping users with generic and technical Pale Moon issues on all operating systems.

Moderator: trava90

Forum rules
This board is for technical/general usage questions and troubleshooting for the Pale Moon browser only.
Technical issues and questions not related to the Pale Moon browser should be posted in other boards!
Please keep off-topic and general discussion out of this board, thank you!
jdpls
Apollo supporter
Apollo supporter
Posts: 41
Joined: 2014-10-13, 13:23
Location: USA

hide menu items

Unread post by jdpls » 2024-06-22, 07:25

is there a way to hide menu items natively?

for example:
2024-06-22 03_18_58-.png
2024-06-22 03_18_58-.png (10.87 KiB) Viewed 510 times
i have no intention of ever clicking these items, and i'm wondering if i'm just not seeing the option to hide things like this.

if no, is there a go-to extension for this?

User avatar
jars_
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 404
Joined: 2016-12-27, 00:12

Re: hide menu items

Unread post by jars_ » 2024-06-22, 07:45

userChrome.css

Code: Select all


@-moz-document url("chrome://browser/content/browser.xul") {
#menu_sendLink,
#menu_printSetup,
#menu_printPreview,
#menu_print,
#sync-setup {
	display:none !important;
	}


}

jdpls
Apollo supporter
Apollo supporter
Posts: 41
Joined: 2014-10-13, 13:23
Location: USA

Re: hide menu items

Unread post by jdpls » 2024-06-22, 20:45

oh, thanks. where are all these variables named so i can poke around with them?

User avatar
karlkracher
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 131
Joined: 2015-12-05, 17:40
Location: berlin / germany

Re: hide menu items

Unread post by karlkracher » 2024-06-23, 00:48

You also might take a look at this extension: Menu Wizard. Old but working.

jdpls
Apollo supporter
Apollo supporter
Posts: 41
Joined: 2014-10-13, 13:23
Location: USA

Re: hide menu items

Unread post by jdpls » 2024-06-23, 00:53

karlkracher wrote:
2024-06-23, 00:48
You also might take a look at this extension: Menu Wizard. Old but working.
that's one of the five extensions i just got rid of, actually.

User avatar
karlkracher
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 131
Joined: 2015-12-05, 17:40
Location: berlin / germany

Re: hide menu items

Unread post by karlkracher » 2024-06-23, 02:16

jdpls wrote:
2024-06-23, 00:53
that's one of the five extensions i just got rid of, actually.
Why? Anything I should know?

jdpls
Apollo supporter
Apollo supporter
Posts: 41
Joined: 2014-10-13, 13:23
Location: USA

Re: hide menu items

Unread post by jdpls » 2024-06-23, 03:01

karlkracher wrote:
2024-06-23, 02:16
jdpls wrote:
2024-06-23, 00:53
that's one of the five extensions i just got rid of, actually.
Why? Anything I should know?
nothing bad, i guess you could call it spring cleaning.

User avatar
smithy
Moon lover
Moon lover
Posts: 78
Joined: 2020-07-02, 11:44

Re: hide menu items

Unread post by smithy » 2024-06-23, 04:20

karlkracher wrote:
2024-06-23, 00:48
You also might take a look at this extension: Menu Wizard. Old but working.
Also chock-a-block full of telemetry..
Check out lootyhoof’s comment on this thread.
viewtopic.php?f=46&t=30904&p=249942#p249942

jdpls
Apollo supporter
Apollo supporter
Posts: 41
Joined: 2014-10-13, 13:23
Location: USA

Re: hide menu items

Unread post by jdpls » 2024-06-23, 05:26

smithy wrote:
2024-06-23, 04:20
karlkracher wrote:
2024-06-23, 00:48
You also might take a look at this extension: Menu Wizard. Old but working.
Also chock-a-block full of telemetry..
Check out lootyhoof’s comment on this thread.
viewtopic.php?f=46&t=30904&p=249942#p249942
nuts. i was thinking i had to go back to this because tinkering with userchrome wasn't working. couldn't figure out how to get rid of the now-unnecessary separators or the edit submenu, or into the tab context menu at all.

User avatar
Kris_88
Keeps coming back
Keeps coming back
Posts: 978
Joined: 2021-01-26, 11:18

Re: hide menu items

Unread post by Kris_88 » 2024-06-23, 22:22

jdpls wrote:
2024-06-23, 05:26
couldn't figure out how to get rid of the now-unnecessary separators or the edit submenu, or into the tab context menu at all.
Enter this url:
resource:///chrome/browser/content/browser/
Find the file "browser.xul" and save it to disk (right click, "save link as").
This is the main GUI file of the browser and you will find most of the menus in it.

You can't select separators directly by ID (they don't have an ID), but you can reference them by the previous element.

Here are the 4 separators that I see in the menu:

Code: Select all

  #appmenu_offlineModeRecovery + menuseparator, 
  #appmenu_find + menuseparator,
  #appmenu_print + menuseparator,
  #appmenu_webDeveloper + menuseparator
  {
    display: none !important;
  }

User avatar
Kris_88
Keeps coming back
Keeps coming back
Posts: 978
Joined: 2021-01-26, 11:18

Re: hide menu items

Unread post by Kris_88 » 2024-06-23, 23:03

By the way, it is also possible to change the order of menu items.

You can experiment:

Code: Select all

  #appmenu_webDeveloper, 
  #appmenu_fullScreen
  {
    -moz-box-ordinal-group: 0 !important;
  }

  #appmenu_openFile
  {
    -moz-box-ordinal-group: 2 !important;
  }

jdpls
Apollo supporter
Apollo supporter
Posts: 41
Joined: 2014-10-13, 13:23
Location: USA

Re: hide menu items

Unread post by jdpls » 2024-06-24, 01:35

Kris_88 wrote:
2024-06-23, 22:22
jdpls wrote:
2024-06-23, 05:26
couldn't figure out how to get rid of the now-unnecessary separators or the edit submenu, or into the tab context menu at all.
Enter this url:
resource:///chrome/browser/content/browser/
Find the file "browser.xul" and save it to disk (right click, "save link as").
This is the main GUI file of the browser and you will find most of the menus in it.

You can't select separators directly by ID (they don't have an ID), but you can reference them by the previous element.

Here are the 4 separators that I see in the menu:

Code: Select all

  #appmenu_offlineModeRecovery + menuseparator, 
  #appmenu_find + menuseparator,
  #appmenu_print + menuseparator,
  #appmenu_webDeveloper + menuseparator
  {
    display: none !important;
  }
thanks for telling me about how to get browser.xul, that helped a lot with finding stuff while browser toolbox was unavailable.

my only remaining problems are that, for some reason,

Code: Select all

#context_toggleMuteTab { display: none !important;}
does not remove
2024-06-23 21_26_03-.png
2024-06-23 21_26_03-.png (7.83 KiB) Viewed 231 times
i mean, am i blind and just not seeing the setting to remove this somewhere?

and the edit label and this final separator are still there for some reason.
2024-06-23 21_31_20-.png
2024-06-23 21_31_20-.png (6.98 KiB) Viewed 231 times

User avatar
Kris_88
Keeps coming back
Keeps coming back
Posts: 978
Joined: 2021-01-26, 11:18

Re: hide menu items

Unread post by Kris_88 » 2024-06-24, 02:14

This is works for me.
Look for an error (maybe a typo or an unclosed parenthesis) in your CSS or post your CSS.

Code: Select all

#context_toggleMuteTab {  display: none !important; }
#appmenu_offlineModeRecovery + menuseparator + hbox {  display: none !important; }

User avatar
Kris_88
Keeps coming back
Keeps coming back
Posts: 978
Joined: 2021-01-26, 11:18

Re: hide menu items

Unread post by Kris_88 » 2024-06-24, 02:47

And, yes, your tab menu is not standard, probably replaced by some add-on. Then you need to find out the IDs of the elements in this menu.

jdpls
Apollo supporter
Apollo supporter
Posts: 41
Joined: 2014-10-13, 13:23
Location: USA

Re: hide menu items

Unread post by jdpls » 2024-06-24, 09:26

Kris_88 wrote:
2024-06-24, 02:14
This is works for me.
Look for an error (maybe a typo or an unclosed parenthesis) in your CSS or post your CSS.

Code: Select all

#context_toggleMuteTab {  display: none !important; }
#appmenu_offlineModeRecovery + menuseparator + hbox {  display: none !important; }
yeah, i don't know what's up with that. yours and mine look identical, but yours works. can't complain. thanks for the help.

Post Reply