[28] Random hangs since upgrading to PM 28 x64

The place to report Pale Moon specific bugs on the Windows operating system.

Moderator: satrow

DarthVitrial
Apollo supporter
Apollo supporter
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue, 03 Feb 2015, 04:53
Location: San Antonio

[28] Random hangs since upgrading to PM 28 x64

Unread postby DarthVitrial » Sat, 18 Aug 2018, 20:38

First, here's the log from whatishang: https://pastebin.com/NkCJ2uEb

Using Windows 10 build 17134
Intel i7 4810mq cpu, Gtx 880m gpu, 16gb ram.

I've tried disabling hardware acceleration, compatibility mode, and mse in case those might have been the cause, but no effect.

I have no plugins enabled, my enabled addons are tab scope, ublock origin, and NoScript.

Doesn't seem to happen on any particular sites, just randomly when scrolling. Might happen on sites with comment boxes, like gocomics or nexus mods more?

User avatar
satrow
Forum staff
Forum staff
Posts: 1701
Joined: Thu, 08 Sep 2011, 11:27

Re: [28] Random hangs since upgrading to PM 28 x64

Unread postby satrow » Sat, 18 Aug 2018, 23:18

I'm no expert but I'd need to rule out 3rd party interference first; is MBAE causing a logjam?

Modules found in the stack:
C:\Program Files\Pale Moon\xul.dll , Mozilla Foundation , PaleMoon,
C:\Program Files\Pale Moon\mozglue.dll , Mozilla Foundation , PaleMoon,
C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes\Anti-Malware\mbae64.dll , Malwarebytes Corporation , Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit, Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit
...

DarthVitrial
Apollo supporter
Apollo supporter
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue, 03 Feb 2015, 04:53
Location: San Antonio

Re: [28] Random hangs since upgrading to PM 28 x64

Unread postby DarthVitrial » Sun, 19 Aug 2018, 00:15

I forgot to disable it before getting that hang report, but I'm fairly certain it's unrelated since I completely disabled Malwarebytes for several days and the issue persisted with it disabled.

User avatar
satrow
Forum staff
Forum staff
Posts: 1701
Joined: Thu, 08 Sep 2011, 11:27

Re: [28] Random hangs since upgrading to PM 28 x64

Unread postby satrow » Sun, 19 Aug 2018, 02:57

Disabling security software commonly isn't enough to ensure nothing loads, Malwarebytes should have a specific uninstall routine you'll need to follow.

p0k3m0n
Apollo supporter
Apollo supporter
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon, 06 Mar 2017, 08:01

Re: [28] Random hangs since upgrading to PM 28 x64

Unread postby p0k3m0n » Sun, 19 Aug 2018, 06:57

I can confirm. The same on my system. It is rare, but exist.

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 22406
Joined: Sun, 28 Aug 2011, 17:27
Location: 58.5°N 15.5°E
Contact:

Re: [28] Random hangs since upgrading to PM 28 x64

Unread postby Moonchild » Sun, 19 Aug 2018, 08:07

p0k3m0n wrote:I can confirm. The same on my system. It is rare, but exist.

Confirming "a hang" that can be caused by many factors doesn't necessarily mean it has the same cause (usually doesn't).

We'll need more information from both of you, if possible, to figure out what is happening.
Improving Mozilla code: You know you're on the right track with code changes when you spend the majority of your time deleting code.

"If you want to build a better world for yourself, you have to be willing to build one for everybody." -- Coyote Osborne

p0k3m0n
Apollo supporter
Apollo supporter
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon, 06 Mar 2017, 08:01

Re: [28] Random hangs since upgrading to PM 28 x64

Unread postby p0k3m0n » Sun, 19 Aug 2018, 09:06

Moonchild wrote:
p0k3m0n wrote:I can confirm. The same on my system. It is rare, but exist.

We'll need more information from both of you, if possible, to figure out what is happening.


But how? It is often completely freeze. Can not create any log, only kill task.

User avatar
eskaton023
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 456
Joined: Fri, 23 Aug 2013, 19:54

Re: [28] Random hangs since upgrading to PM 28 x64

Unread postby eskaton023 » Sun, 19 Aug 2018, 13:19


p0k3m0n
Apollo supporter
Apollo supporter
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon, 06 Mar 2017, 08:01

Re: [28] Random hangs since upgrading to PM 28 x64

Unread postby p0k3m0n » Sun, 19 Aug 2018, 14:57



I know this program, but in that case it is not working. No reports. It is not simple "hang", it is total freeze.
Last edited by p0k3m0n on Sun, 19 Aug 2018, 14:58, edited 1 time in total.

p0k3m0n
Apollo supporter
Apollo supporter
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon, 06 Mar 2017, 08:01

Re: [28] Random hangs since upgrading to PM 28 x64

Unread postby p0k3m0n » Sun, 19 Aug 2018, 15:28

As attachment rendering artifacts before freeze. And again, when PM starts to works buggy, Bandicam show this big info "no camera found" (what is nonsense).

System: Windows 7 32bit.

Started on that site: https://androidfilehost.com/?fid=1322778262903984442

After this crash my userprofile was damaged.

Code: Select all

Podpis problemu:
  Nazwa zdarzenia problemu:   APPCRASH
  Nazwa aplikacji:   palemoon.exe
  Wersja aplikacji:   4.1.4.6793
  Sygnatura czasowa aplikacji:   5b699a8d
  Nazwa modułu z błędem:   xul.dll
  Wersja modułu z błędem:   4.1.4.6793
  Sygnatura czasowa modułu z błędem:   5b699d2a
  Kod wyjątku:   80000003
  Przesunięcie wyjątku:   0014fe7b
  Wersja systemu operacyjnego:   6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
  Identyfikator ustawień regionalnych:   1045
  Dodatkowe informacje 1:   0a9e
  Dodatkowe informacje 2:   0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
  Dodatkowe informacje 3:   0a9e
  Dodatkowe informacje 4:   0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

Przeczytaj w trybie online nasze zasady zachowania poufności informacji:
  http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=104288&clcid=0x0415

Jeśli zasady zachowania poufności informacji w trybie online nie są dostępne, przeczytaj nasze zasady zachowania poufności informacji w trybie offline:
  C:\Windows\system32\pl-PL\erofflps.txt
Attachments
bandicam 2018-08-19 17-18-02-273.zip
Rendering artefacts
(3.24 MiB) Downloaded 1 time
Last edited by p0k3m0n on Sun, 19 Aug 2018, 15:47, edited 4 times in total.

DarthVitrial
Apollo supporter
Apollo supporter
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue, 03 Feb 2015, 04:53
Location: San Antonio

Re: [28] Random hangs since upgrading to PM 28 x64

Unread postby DarthVitrial » Sun, 19 Aug 2018, 18:41

I fully removed Malwarebytes with their MBAM-Clean tool, and the hangs continued to happen. Sometimes whatishang doesn't even catch it, the browser just totally locks up.

DarthVitrial
Apollo supporter
Apollo supporter
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue, 03 Feb 2015, 04:53
Location: San Antonio

Re: [28] Random hangs since upgrading to PM 28 x64

Unread postby DarthVitrial » Sun, 19 Aug 2018, 18:53

here are two new hang logs if that helps: https://pastebin.com/QyjnV4z5 https://pastebin.com/46hRMCct
Last edited by DarthVitrial on Sun, 19 Aug 2018, 18:58, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
satrow
Forum staff
Forum staff
Posts: 1701
Joined: Thu, 08 Sep 2011, 11:27

Re: [28] Random hangs since upgrading to PM 28 x64

Unread postby satrow » Sun, 19 Aug 2018, 20:51

MBAE is still loaded:

46hRMCct:
00007FF949C90000 - 00007FF949D0D000 C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes\Anti-Malware\mbae64.dll , Malwarebytes Corporation , Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit, Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit


QyjnV4z5:
00007FF949C90000 - 00007FF949D0D000 C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes\Anti-Malware\mbae64.dll , Malwarebytes Corporation , Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit, Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit

DarthVitrial
Apollo supporter
Apollo supporter
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue, 03 Feb 2015, 04:53
Location: San Antonio

Re: [28] Random hangs since upgrading to PM 28 x64

Unread postby DarthVitrial » Sun, 19 Aug 2018, 23:58

Yes, I know. I reinstalled Malwarebytes after confirming that fully removing it didn't stop the hangs. Those hang reports are from after I reinstalled, I didn't grab any from when it was removed because I didn't want to run without antivirus any longer than needed to be sure it wasn't causing the hangs.
Sorry for not specifying that.
Last edited by DarthVitrial on Sun, 19 Aug 2018, 23:58, edited 1 time in total.

DoctorM
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 102
Joined: Thu, 31 Jul 2014, 18:19
Location: USA

Re: [28] Random hangs since upgrading to PM 28 x64

Unread postby DoctorM » Mon, 20 Aug 2018, 03:48

I have two installations on different PCs. The x64 install has been a painless upgrade. The x86 version... :thumbdown:

It's slower, has random crashes and hangs. When PM goes down it it still running in the Task Manager and using a big chunk of CPU and has to be killed manually. I've also seen random screen corruption in the browser window (areas that are black that scrolling the window finishes drawing the missing regions).

I need to retest with a clean profile, but at the moment it's more important that that PC has a working browser so I've rolled it back to v27.

yami_
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 232
Joined: Thu, 26 Apr 2018, 11:05

Re: [28] Random hangs since upgrading to PM 28 x64

Unread postby yami_ » Mon, 20 Aug 2018, 06:29

The black rectangles are usually an indication of GPU-related problems.
For example this happens when the browser is running out of VRAM:
Image
cat came back from Berkeley waving flags
- rob pike

DarthVitrial
Apollo supporter
Apollo supporter
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue, 03 Feb 2015, 04:53
Location: San Antonio

Re: [28] Random hangs since upgrading to PM 28 x64

Unread postby DarthVitrial » Mon, 20 Aug 2018, 15:54

I haven't had any visual glitches like that during my hangs, the browser just locks up.

EDIT: My about:troubleshooting info: https://pastebin.com/hzKNcbBF
Last edited by DarthVitrial on Mon, 20 Aug 2018, 15:56, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
satrow
Forum staff
Forum staff
Posts: 1701
Joined: Thu, 08 Sep 2011, 11:27

Re: [28] Random hangs since upgrading to PM 28 x64

Unread postby satrow » Mon, 20 Aug 2018, 16:02

Darth, try turning off MB's Web Protection.

DarthVitrial
Apollo supporter
Apollo supporter
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue, 03 Feb 2015, 04:53
Location: San Antonio

Re: [28] Random hangs since upgrading to PM 28 x64

Unread postby DarthVitrial » Mon, 20 Aug 2018, 18:01

Like I said, I already tried that, and even tried fully removing Malwarebytes with their own uninstall tool. It did not stop the hangs.

User avatar
satrow
Forum staff
Forum staff
Posts: 1701
Joined: Thu, 08 Sep 2011, 11:27

Re: [28] Random hangs since upgrading to PM 28 x64

Unread postby satrow » Mon, 20 Aug 2018, 18:46

What other security software are you using, anything like EMET?

Does Reliability Monitor show anything useful?


Return to “Bug reports (Windows)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests