McDonalds menus do not load Topic is solved

Talk about code development, features, specific bugs, enhancements, patches, and similar things.
Forum rules
Please keep everything here strictly on-topic.
This board is meant for Pale Moon source code development related subjects only like code snippets, patches, specific bugs, git, the repositories, etc.

This is not for tech support! Please do not post tech support questions in the "Development" board!
Please make sure not to use this board for support questions. Please post issues with specific websites, extensions, etc. in the relevant boards for those topics.

Please keep things on-topic as this forum will be used for reference for Pale Moon development. Expect topics that aren't relevant as such to be moved or deleted.
dirtyoldm

McDonalds menus do not load

Unread post by dirtyoldm » 2017-12-07, 23:09

Windows 10 LTSB, Pale Moon v27.6.2
Go to Mcdonalds.com, hit 'Our Menu', then any menu on the dropdown. Rotating star never stops.

Works fine in IE 11 and Chromium 62.0.3202.94.
Problem existed in 27.4.2

User avatar
gracious1
Keeps coming back
Keeps coming back
Posts: 891
Joined: 2016-05-15, 05:00
Location: humid upstate NY

Re: McDonalds menus do not load

Unread post by gracious1 » 2017-12-08, 04:11

I can reproduce this in 27.7.0a2 (64-bit) (2017-11-23) on Ubuntu 14.04.
Click "Our Menu", then click "View Full Menu"
You are taken to the menu page, but then all you get are throbers that never stop spinning, no menu items.
PM McDonalds menu fails to load.png
To compare, I also tested in SeaMonkey 2.49 and Basilsik 2017.12.03 (64-bit). The full menu loaded fine.
SM McDonalds menu works.png
20 July 1969 🌗 Apollo 11 🌓 "One small step for [a] man, one giant leap for mankind." 🚀

GMforker

Re: McDonalds menus do not load

Unread post by GMforker » 2017-12-08, 05:55

Throws an error in Browser Console:

Code: Select all

ReferenceError: updateCount is not defined
=>

Code: Select all

$("#enter-commentsuk").keyup(updateCount);
$("#enter-commentsuk").keydown(updateCount);
function updateCount(){var a=[maxLength-$(this).val().length];
See Issue #900.

User avatar
Sajadi
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1227
Joined: 2013-04-19, 00:46

Re: McDonalds menus do not load

Unread post by Sajadi » 2017-12-08, 12:52

This is one of the so-called "modern and essential" web-standards which are rather problematic to implement in Pale Moon's code base. So without anyone implementing that one, pages which use that so-called "standard" will not work properly in Pale Moon.

Use for pages like that http://www.basilisk-browser.org or IE11

User avatar
gracious1
Keeps coming back
Keeps coming back
Posts: 891
Joined: 2016-05-15, 05:00
Location: humid upstate NY

Re: McDonalds menus do not load

Unread post by gracious1 » 2017-12-08, 14:02

Sajadi wrote:This is one of the so-called "modern and essential" web-standards which are rather problematic to implement in Pale Moon's code base.
Which standard is this exactly? And what is it about PM's codebase that makes it so difficult to implement?
20 July 1969 🌗 Apollo 11 🌓 "One small step for [a] man, one giant leap for mankind." 🚀

User avatar
Sajadi
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1227
Joined: 2013-04-19, 00:46

Re: McDonalds menus do not load

Unread post by Sajadi » 2017-12-08, 14:17

gracious1 wrote:Which standard is this exactly? And what is it about PM's codebase that makes it so difficult to implement?
http://kangax.github.io/compat-table/es6/

and all the related 2016+ entries.

This is nothing trivial and it requires special knowledge as this is no part of the normal browser code. Means every browser developer has to understand how it works and how to get it inside the own code base. Big developers like Google or Microsoft have special people/teams for this certain task.

Also, this is sadly not something which can simply be back-ported in an easy way from Firefox because the code base of Firefox and Pale Moon has been diverging a lot in different directions since quite some time.

You can't expect a smaller browser team have the same capabilities like the big guys, and if you are facing such complicated matter sometimes the only logical answer you can expect is "patches welcome" as it is 100% unrealistically to be able to implement all the upcoming shiny sparkling "standards" without any help! No matter if that help consists of retrieved tutorials or guides from various coding sources available online or asking perhaps people with coding skills you know or everything similar to that! :wave:

And that is the reason why it makes sense to have a secondary browser installed when you use the browsers of smaller projects like Pale Moon or Otter-Browser.

There is really no simple and quick workaround for issues like that.

User avatar
gracious1
Keeps coming back
Keeps coming back
Posts: 891
Joined: 2016-05-15, 05:00
Location: humid upstate NY

Re: McDonalds menus do not load

Unread post by gracious1 » 2017-12-08, 15:39

Sajadi wrote:You can't expect a smaller browser team have the same capabilities like the big guys, and if you are facing such complicated matter sometimes the only logical answer you can expect is "patches welcome" as it is 100% unrealistically to be able to implement all the upcoming shiny sparkling "standards" without any help! No matter if that help consists of retrieved tutorials or guides from various coding sources available online or asking perhaps people with coding skills you know or everything similar to that! :wave:

And that is the reason why it makes sense to have a secondary browser installed when you use the browsers of smaller projects like Pale Moon or Otter-Browser.
Well, yes, I think most users of PM have at least one and probably several auxiliary browsers. (I have almost every browser available for GNU/Linux installed.)
20 July 1969 🌗 Apollo 11 🌓 "One small step for [a] man, one giant leap for mankind." 🚀

dirtyoldm

Re: McDonalds menus do not load

Unread post by dirtyoldm » 2017-12-08, 19:39

I am dazzled by the quick and knowledgeable replies. Thanks all.
The situation, however, is just sad.

Was it really necessary to try to rewrite Firefox rendering ?
Pale Moon is wonderful for reducing bloat and preserving useful old UI features. That's all it needs to do!

We'll check out www.basilisk-browser.org, thanks for the tip.

User avatar
Sajadi
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1227
Joined: 2013-04-19, 00:46

Re: McDonalds menus do not load

Unread post by Sajadi » 2017-12-08, 19:50

dirtyoldm wrote:Was it really necessary to try to rewrite Firefox rendering ?
It has nothing to do with rewrite the engine - Understand that Pale Moon is a fork. It means it does not use the same engine like Firefox - Being a fork makes it of course problematic to find a way to insert all the latest forced "standards and drafts" - It all depends on knowledge. As said, big browser makers have special teams around which are handling that kind of tasks.

Pale Moon does not have that option and if there is no one around who can successfully implement that "shinies" - the result is that they are simply not getting implemented if no work-around can be found. Once the Unified XUL Platform (UXP) is brought inside Pale Moon that present problems will most likely disappear. This still does not change the fact that ecmascript section is constantly evolving and new specifications are implemented, which means the old known game starts fresh at some future point.

Anyway, keep in mind is that without user initiative some problem appear for a forked project which can't be easily solved. You know someone who can code? Tell them about Pale Moon and ask for help :) For some issues there is a bounty available if someone would solve them :wave:

So, a second browser is a real must have.

And last but not least.. the only way to be up to date draft and standards wise would be in just using the latest Firefox version inside Pale Moon. But as one of the points Pale Moon tries to avoid is the deconstruction of it's feature set (that is what happens in latest versions of Firefox - features are all taken away for becoming a very simple browser to attract the most simple user base) - so, using everything beyond Firefox 57 as base is just not working out because then Pale Moon would stop being Pale Moon and just becoming another cheap flavor of Chrome like Firefox has become.

Locked