Just updated to 27.1.2 and lots of freezing

The place to report Pale Moon specific bugs on the Windows operating system.

Moderator: satrow

rm118899
Hobby Astronomer
Hobby Astronomer
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon, 03 Aug 2015, 22:26
Location: USA

Just updated to 27.1.2 and lots of freezing

Postby rm118899 » Sat, 04 Mar 2017, 06:37

I just updated to 27.1.2, which was supposed to fix issues with freezing, but it's still happening.

It is very curious: the "not responding" thing happens with zero percent (0%) CPU usage.

It happened several times in a row after updating. I have a bunch of unloaded tabs; the only loaded tabs were from the Polygon website.

I have Flash disabled and have an extension to block autoplay of videos. With this extension ("FlashStopper", also blocks non-Flash autoplay), the pages I am reading do not seem to have autoplay videos ("Hangs may occur on media-heavy sites like Facebook and YouTube").

Windows 7, single core CPU. Here are the pages I was browsing when it froze (other tabs unloaded):

http://www.polygon.com/2017/3/3/1480997 ... nge-reddit
http://www.polygon.com/2017/3/3/1480865 ... maybe-dont
http://www.polygon.com/2017/3/1/1477354 ... tch-review
http://www.polygon.com/2017/3/3/1480932 ... terference
http://www.polygon.com/2017/3/3/1480239 ... s-portable
http://www.polygon.com/2017/3/3/1480392 ... d-transfer
http://www.polygon.com/2017/2/26/147448 ... rio-bros-3
http://www.polygon.com/2017/3/3/1480557 ... ues-screen
http://www.polygon.com/2017/2/26/147466 ... ial-oscars
http://www.polygon.com/2017/3/2/1475350 ... itch-wii-u
http://www.polygon.com/2017/3/2/1479073 ... iewed-game
http://www.polygon.com/2017/2/1/1447452 ... vr-support


Also: When I kill the not-responding process and restart, I lose the most recent tabs. Why isn't the session auto-saved and recovered? Is there a way to manually save the session (without closing and restarting, which works)?

User avatar
New Tobin Paradigm
Banned user
Banned user
Posts: 4417
Joined: Tue, 09 Oct 2012, 19:37

Re: Just updated to 27.1.2 and lots of freezing

Postby New Tobin Paradigm » Sat, 04 Mar 2017, 06:45

Try the latest unstable build. The patch for 27.1.2 was meant for pages with LOTS of media on one page like facebook/twitter as a stop-gap for the most common and reproducible hang.
I hate Pod Six. Tch, I don't even know why we have a Pod Six. Total suck Pod.
[ ニュー・トビン・パラダイム ]

User avatar
Sajadi
Keeps coming back
Keeps coming back
Posts: 880
Joined: Fri, 19 Apr 2013, 00:46

Re: Just updated to 27.1.2 and lots of freezing

Postby Sajadi » Sat, 04 Mar 2017, 11:48

Best idea really is to use the unstable build, as it runs much better as compared to the latest stable. No hangs on that links here. As the stable series has some bigger issues i recommend getting the unstable build from here:

http://www.palemoon.org/unstable/

User avatar
Tomaso
Keeps coming back
Keeps coming back
Posts: 808
Joined: Thu, 23 Jul 2015, 16:09
Location: Norway

Re: Just updated to 27.1.2 and lots of freezing

Postby Tomaso » Sun, 05 Mar 2017, 11:36

rm118899 wrote:Here are the pages I was browsing when it froze

I just opened all of those links simultaneously, in separate tabs.
Then I opened each of the tabs and made sure that they were all playing videos too.
I even had the buggy MSE options enabled, but I still couldn't provoke a freeze, using a clean install of PM v27.1.2,x64 under Win8.1Pro.

groblin
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon, 06 Mar 2017, 11:04

Re: Just updated to 27.1.2 and lots of freezing

Postby groblin » Mon, 06 Mar 2017, 11:07

Yes , the same problem with me and every site, before update it work good, but now it often freeze and i need to end palemoon process, or other problem the tab title is not displayed (white instead)

p0k3m0n
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon, 06 Mar 2017, 08:01

Re: Just updated to 27.1.2 and lots of freezing

Postby p0k3m0n » Mon, 06 Mar 2017, 11:37

I have v. similar problem, but it is IMHO connected with HTML5 videos. I have nVidia card.

User avatar
Sajadi
Keeps coming back
Keeps coming back
Posts: 880
Joined: Fri, 19 Apr 2013, 00:46

Re: Just updated to 27.1.2 and lots of freezing

Postby Sajadi » Mon, 06 Mar 2017, 14:06

http://www.palemoon.org/unstable/ - Try please the unstable version. Also, deactivate hardware acceleration in the Pale Moon options.

No freezes, hangs and else with the unstable and deactivated hardware acceleration here.

groblin
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon, 06 Mar 2017, 11:04

Re: Just updated to 27.1.2 and lots of freezing

Postby groblin » Mon, 06 Mar 2017, 14:21

Sajadi wrote:http://www.palemoon.org/unstable/ - Try please the unstable version. Also, deactivate hardware acceleration in the Pale Moon options.

No freezes, hangs and else with the unstable and deactivated hardware acceleration here.


Yes but, you say to use the unstable version to have a more stable version than the stable version ?

User avatar
New Tobin Paradigm
Banned user
Banned user
Posts: 4417
Joined: Tue, 09 Oct 2012, 19:37

Re: Just updated to 27.1.2 and lots of freezing

Postby New Tobin Paradigm » Mon, 06 Mar 2017, 14:42

Unstable in this context is just a differentiating term as opposed to Release.

Pale Moon has a few main types of builds.

Unstable - Periodically public released and AUS enabled builds that are built off the tip of our trunk branch (master).
Beta - These are specific builds that occasionally get released to closed beta testers during the mid-point of development, however, they have been largely de-emphisized and de-prioritized with the advent of Unstable.
Release Candidate - These builds are intended for release assuming no super-show-stopping issues are identified. They are still released to closed beta testing and are built off the intended relbranch.
Release - This is what we release for broad public consumption and it is hoped that it is stable and is built off a relbranch.

In the past there have been Tech Previews and Public Betas for large milestone level changes but again with the advent of Unstable these may or may not happen any more.

Development, as noted elsewhere, proceeds like this. Work is done on trunk (master) when it has reached a point that it is deemed substantial enough it gets stabilized and eventually makes it to a release branch. Then, if Beta builds are produced they will be tested by the closed beta testing team. When that reaches a state that is near release one or more release candidates will be built and given to the a fore mentioned beta testers. If all is well it gets tagged and final release binaries are built, signed, and released.

The Pale Moon Project is in a bit of a transition in its release procedure with the new Unstables being built at least once a week to every few days and publicly released for anyone to test, evaluate, and report on.

However, at this specific point with the continuing major work done by Travis (who has made it to superstar levels now) on the media subsystem they can be more stable than current release in the case where issues are happening with audio and most specifically video in the browser.
I hate Pod Six. Tch, I don't even know why we have a Pod Six. Total suck Pod.
[ ニュー・トビン・パラダイム ]

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 21181
Joined: Sun, 28 Aug 2011, 17:27
Location: 58.5°N 15.5°E
Contact:

Re: Just updated to 27.1.2 and lots of freezing

Postby Moonchild » Mon, 06 Mar 2017, 23:03

As an additional note: because the Unstable is built from the master/trunk of our main development, it is possible that some versions have major issues since they have changes that have not been extensively tested. It's even possible that some versions won't even start. I therefore don't recommend that people "always run the unstable version" but in some situations it may be beneficial to run as a temporary measure if there are known issues with the release version that have been fixed with work on the development branch.

Making the unstable your main browser is risky if the browser is essential to your daily workflow; as such I don't recommend it for most people.
Improving Mozilla code: You know you're on the right track with code changes when you spend the majority of your time deleting code.

"The wisest men follow their own direction." - Euripedes

Luna Tic
Moonbather
Moonbather
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed, 23 Nov 2016, 23:27

Re: Just updated to 27.1.2 and lots of freezing

Postby Luna Tic » Tue, 07 Mar 2017, 01:03

Moonchild wrote:Making the unstable your main browser is risky if the browser is essential to your daily workflow; as such I don't recommend it for most people.


So, let me ask this. Is it possible to use Unstable for regular browsing, and use stable Release for important browsing? Not necessarily at the same time, but maybe with the same profile? And not risking Unstable jihading that profile, of course.

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 21181
Joined: Sun, 28 Aug 2011, 17:27
Location: 58.5°N 15.5°E
Contact:

Re: Just updated to 27.1.2 and lots of freezing

Postby Moonchild » Wed, 08 Mar 2017, 03:03

Luna Tic wrote:So, let me ask this. Is it possible to use Unstable for regular browsing, and use stable Release for important browsing? Not necessarily at the same time, but maybe with the same profile? And not risking Unstable jihading that profile, of course.

Well, that risk is always there; but making regular back-ups just in case can help you with that. Also, if there is going to be a large change on the master branch it may make a profile no longer backwards compatible, so... it may be better to keep them truly separate, e.g. by having a separate profile.
Improving Mozilla code: You know you're on the right track with code changes when you spend the majority of your time deleting code.

"The wisest men follow their own direction." - Euripedes

abynormal
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu, 23 Feb 2017, 11:09

Re: Just updated to 27.1.2 and lots of freezing

Postby abynormal » Wed, 08 Mar 2017, 09:14

I am running the latest unstable version and from time to time PM freezes and it does it at different pages. I cannot really pinpoint what is causing it but sometimes I can reproduce it trying to open the same page where it failed before. Looks like it happens when I have multiple windows open...
Next time I can try to acquire a crash report, just don't know how to generate one...


Return to “Bug reports (Windows)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests