Palemoon not optimized for Skylake CPUs?

For the more technical/geeky chat subjects!

Moderators: Indalecio, satrow

SGvagon
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 395
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 1:33 pm
Location: Czech Republic - Slavonice
Contact:

Palemoon not optimized for Skylake CPUs?

Postby SGvagon » Sat Sep 09, 2017 5:07 am

Hello,

on my new MSI laptop with Core i7 6700HQ (Skylake) , Nvidia GTX960M 2 GB and 16GB RAM (Windows 7 PRO x64bit) , Palemoon lagging and stuttering much more than on my older Lenovo laptop with i5 3210M (Ivy Bridge) . Youtube or any HTML5 players (only players, videos are OK) lagging too (click to fullscreen takes 2-5 seconds) . Scrolling sometimes bad too (stuttering and very often “jumping“ ) .
Laptop and HW is OK, because when I try other browsers (Opera, Chrome, Firefox, IE, ... ) they are run faster than Palemoon (clear, portable, unstable) .
Thank you in advance.

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 19495
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2011 5:27 pm
Location: 58.5°N 15.5°E
Contact:

Re: Palemoon not optimized for Skylake CPUs?

Postby Moonchild » Sat Sep 09, 2017 8:34 am

It's more likely the NV 960 chip that's the problem here. There have been multiple issues with that particular chip, especially in hybrid setups.
You should make sure that Pale Moon uses the Intel graphics part of the CPU rather than the NV chip for its accelerated rendering.
Improving Mozilla code: You know you're on the right track with code changes when you spend the majority of your time deleting code.
Image

SGvagon
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 395
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 1:33 pm
Location: Czech Republic - Slavonice
Contact:

Re: Palemoon not optimized for Skylake CPUs?

Postby SGvagon » Sat Sep 09, 2017 3:32 pm

I am sure, because this laptop has got an LED in power button, which when is red, that means, that Nvidia graphic card is in use.
And Nvidia control panel not shows me any activity about Palemoon.
Image
So Palemoon runs only via the Skylake CPU.

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 19495
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2011 5:27 pm
Location: 58.5°N 15.5°E
Contact:

Re: Palemoon not optimized for Skylake CPUs?

Postby Moonchild » Sat Sep 09, 2017 4:36 pm

Please post the output of help -> troubleshooting information (copy text to clipboard button, then paste in your reply)
Improving Mozilla code: You know you're on the right track with code changes when you spend the majority of your time deleting code.
Image

SGvagon
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 395
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 1:33 pm
Location: Czech Republic - Slavonice
Contact:

Re: Palemoon not optimized for Skylake CPUs?

Postby SGvagon » Sat Sep 09, 2017 4:47 pm

Ok here you are.

Stručně o aplikaci
------------------

Název: Pale Moon
Verze: 27.4.2
Id buildu: 20170821174052
Kanál aktualizací: default
Identifikace prohlížeče: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:45.9) Gecko/20100101 Goanna/3.2 Firefox/45.9 PaleMoon/27.4.2
OS: Windows_NT 6.1
Multiprocesová okna: 0/1 (výchozí: false)
Nouzový režim: false

Grafika
-------

Aktivní GPU #2: false
Datum ovladače: 5-17-2017
Datum ovladače (GPU #2): 6-7-2017
Direct2D povolen: true
DirectWrite povolen: true (6.2.9200.22164)
Grafická akcelerace oken: 1/1 Direct3D 11 (OMTC)
Id subsystému: 115a1462
Id subsystému (GPU #2): 115a1462
Id výrobce: 0x8086
Id výrobce (GPU #2): 0x10de
Id zařízení: 0x191b
Id zařízení (GPU #2): 0x139b
Ovladače adaptéru: igdumdim64 igd10iumd64 igd10iumd64 igdumdim32 igd10iumd32 igd10iumd32
Ovladače adaptéru (GPU #2): nvd3dumx,nvwgf2umx,nvwgf2umx nvd3dum,nvwgf2um,nvwgf2um
Popis adaptéru: Intel(R) HD Graphics 530
Popis adaptéru (GPU #2): NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M
RAM adaptéru: Unknown
RAM adaptéru (GPU #2): 2048
Verze ovladače: 21.20.16.4678
Verze ovladače (GPU #2): 22.21.13.8253
windowLayerManagerRemote: true
Zobrazování WebGL: Google Inc. -- ANGLE (Intel(R) HD Graphics 530 Direct3D11 vs_5_0 ps_5_0)
AzureCanvasBackend: direct2d 1.1
AzureContentBackend: direct2d 1.1
AzureFallbackCanvasBackend: cairo
AzureSkiaAccelerated: 0

Důležité změněné předvolby
--------------------------

accessibility.typeaheadfind.flashBar: 0
browser.cache.disk.capacity: 358400
browser.cache.disk.smart_size.first_run: false
browser.cache.disk.smart_size.use_old_max: false
browser.download.folderList: 0
browser.download.importedFromSqlite: true
browser.download.manager.alertOnEXEOpen: true
browser.newtab.url: about:blank
browser.places.smartBookmarksVersion: 4
browser.search.useDBForOrder: true
browser.sessionstore.max_tabs_undo: 15
browser.startup.homepage: www.google.cz
browser.startup.homepage_override.buildID: 20170821174052
browser.startup.homepage_override.mstone: 3.2.2
browser.tabs.insertRelatedAfterCurrent: true
browser.tabs.onTop: true
browser.tabs.warnOnClose: false
browser.tabs.warnOnCloseOtherTabs: false
browser.zoom.siteSpecific: false
extensions.lastAppVersion: 27.4.2
font.internaluseonly.changed: true
general.useragent.locale: cs
general.useragent.override.ceskatelevize.cz: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:27.9) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/27.9
gfx.direct3d.last_used_feature_level_idx: 0
image.http.accept: image/webp,image/jxr,image/png,image/*;q=0.8,*/*;q=0.5
network.cookie.prefsMigrated: true
places.database.lastMaintenance: 1504760747
places.history.expiration.transient_current_max_pages: 104858
plugin.importedState: true
privacy.cpd.offlineApps: true
privacy.sanitize.migrateFx3Prefs: true
storage.vacuum.last.index: 1
storage.vacuum.last.places.sqlite: 1502515085

Důležité uzamčené předvolby
---------------------------

Databáze Places
---------------

JavaScript
----------

Inkrementální GC: true

Přístupnost
-----------

Aktivována: false
Zakázána: 1

Verze knihoven
--------------

NSPR
Očekávaná minimální verze: 4.15
Používaná verze: 4.15

NSS
Očekávaná minimální verze: 3.31.1
Používaná verze: 3.31.1

NSSSMIME
Očekávaná minimální verze: 3.31.1
Používaná verze: 3.31.1

NSSSSL
Očekávaná minimální verze: 3.31.1
Používaná verze: 3.31.1

NSSUTIL
Očekávaná minimální verze: 3.31.1
Používaná verze: 3.31.1

Experimentální funkce
---------------------

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 19495
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2011 5:27 pm
Location: 58.5°N 15.5°E
Contact:

Re: Palemoon not optimized for Skylake CPUs?

Postby Moonchild » Sun Sep 10, 2017 1:31 am

Ugh. Intel's HD530 isn't the best either (plenty of issues with Gecko as well, according to bugzilla).
You can try disabling Direct2d and see if that helps. You can also try enabling the NVidia GPU for Pale Moon, and see how that works for you.
Sorry that this is trial&error, but it's a combination of 2 chips that both don't play nice with a Gecko/Goanna style renderer.
Improving Mozilla code: You know you're on the right track with code changes when you spend the majority of your time deleting code.
Image

SGvagon
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 395
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 1:33 pm
Location: Czech Republic - Slavonice
Contact:

Re: Palemoon not optimized for Skylake CPUs?

Postby SGvagon » Sun Sep 10, 2017 2:58 am

Ok thanks, bad news for me well :-/ ? And will be there any fix in the future?

Btw. with Nvidia GPU, Palemoon works smoothly and better, but right click context menu is slow when I moving cursor over it. But this problem I had on previous Lenovo laptop too.

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 19495
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2011 5:27 pm
Location: 58.5°N 15.5°E
Contact:

Re: Palemoon not optimized for Skylake CPUs?

Postby Moonchild » Sun Sep 10, 2017 3:33 am

It's not that simple to "make a fix" for. Hybrid setups like that are very tricky.
Improving Mozilla code: You know you're on the right track with code changes when you spend the majority of your time deleting code.
Image

SGvagon
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 395
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 1:33 pm
Location: Czech Republic - Slavonice
Contact:

Re: Palemoon not optimized for Skylake CPUs?

Postby SGvagon » Sun Sep 10, 2017 3:57 am

Ok, thank you for quick reply.

I installed Palemoon Commander add-on and on Grapgic - Rendering tab I uncheck Disable Direct2D acc. and Use Direct2D v1.1 when available. Then I checked Layers acc. forced.
This makes my Palemoon much faster (50-60%) and works on two monitors better :) . It's not fast as Opera or the newest Firefox, but it's really really better.

SGvagon
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 395
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 1:33 pm
Location: Czech Republic - Slavonice
Contact:

Re: Palemoon not optimized for Skylake CPUs?

Postby SGvagon » Sun Sep 10, 2017 5:05 am

Wow its magic, its really faster now :-) .

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 19495
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2011 5:27 pm
Location: 58.5°N 15.5°E
Contact:

Re: Palemoon not optimized for Skylake CPUs?

Postby Moonchild » Sun Sep 10, 2017 9:25 am

I think the issue is rooted in Direct2D on your setup. Disabling that likely avoid the bad driver code that slows things down.
Improving Mozilla code: You know you're on the right track with code changes when you spend the majority of your time deleting code.
Image

SGvagon
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 395
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 1:33 pm
Location: Czech Republic - Slavonice
Contact:

Re: Palemoon not optimized for Skylake CPUs?

Postby SGvagon » Sun Sep 10, 2017 4:20 pm

I think the Layers force acceleration speed up my Palemoon much more.

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 19495
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2011 5:27 pm
Location: 58.5°N 15.5°E
Contact:

Re: Palemoon not optimized for Skylake CPUs?

Postby Moonchild » Sun Sep 10, 2017 5:17 pm

Layers acceleration should already be on by default, so forcing it will likely do very little.
Improving Mozilla code: You know you're on the right track with code changes when you spend the majority of your time deleting code.
Image

SGvagon
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 395
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 1:33 pm
Location: Czech Republic - Slavonice
Contact:

Re: Palemoon not optimized for Skylake CPUs?

Postby SGvagon » Wed Sep 13, 2017 7:32 am

And I don't know, whether is this problem is Skylake compatibility, but when I play video on youtube, it starts drain my CPU on 60-70% (only on 60FPS videos) and video sometimes stuttering (not play smoothly on 60FPS) . And I have Core i7 6700HQ CPU. Opera takes max 20%. Thank you in advance.


Return to “Technical chat”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests