Sync giving "Unknown error"

For discussions about side projects, potential future projects or helper applications for Pale Moon.

Moderator: satrow

lihatt
Hobby Astronomer
Hobby Astronomer
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu, 21 Aug 2014, 18:39
Location: California

Sync giving "Unknown error"

Unread postby lihatt » Thu, 14 May 2015, 18:28

This morning (ca. 11 AM Pacific time zone) I am getting "Unknown error" in a banner across the bottom of the window when Sync attempts to sync. I've been getting it for about 30 minutes now. (Which makes it a pain to do anything in the bookmarks window as it basically hangs while the Sync status icon spins for quite a few seconds as it attempts to do whatever it's doing.) The server status page claims the server is up and running. It was working normally at least as of about 9 hours ago (time in between was sleep time for me so I don't know exactly when it started). Anyone else seeing this?

In the meantime, is there a way to pause Sync functionality so it doesn't keep trying and failing? (I feel like there used to be an option for this in Firefox, though I could be misremembering, or perhaps I am insufficiently caffeinated and just not spotting it if it does exist.)

User avatar
x-15a2
Keeps coming back
Keeps coming back
Posts: 825
Joined: Wed, 19 Mar 2014, 00:28
Location: Triskelion

Re: Sync giving "Unknown error"

Unread postby x-15a2 » Thu, 14 May 2015, 19:36

Same thing here, though sync server reports: The Pale Moon Sync server is running and should be fully functional.

User avatar
New Tobin Paradigm
Knows the dark side
Knows the dark side
Posts: 4786
Joined: Tue, 09 Oct 2012, 19:37

Re: Sync giving "Unknown error"

Unread postby New Tobin Paradigm » Thu, 14 May 2015, 19:48

Image

== We got to install microwave ovens / Custom kitchen deliveries / We got to move these refrigerators / We got to move these color TVs ==
http://binaryoutcast.com/ | http://thereisonlyxul.org/

kfonda

Re: Sync giving "Unknown error"

Unread postby kfonda » Thu, 14 May 2015, 20:01

Having the same issue here.

This is the error:
2015-05-14_155518.png


and this is what I get when I click on server status:
2015-05-14_155653.png

lihatt
Hobby Astronomer
Hobby Astronomer
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu, 21 Aug 2014, 18:39
Location: California

Re: Sync giving "Unknown error"

Unread postby lihatt » Thu, 14 May 2015, 20:02

Yes, as others above also said, the status page claims it's running normally, but still getting this error.

User avatar
New Tobin Paradigm
Knows the dark side
Knows the dark side
Posts: 4786
Joined: Tue, 09 Oct 2012, 19:37

Re: Sync giving "Unknown error"

Unread postby New Tobin Paradigm » Thu, 14 May 2015, 20:33

lihatt wrote:Yes, as others above also said, the status page claims it's running normally, but still getting this error.


That isn't what it says for me.. I have also spoken to Moonchild. It is currently down but should be back up soon.
Image

== We got to install microwave ovens / Custom kitchen deliveries / We got to move these refrigerators / We got to move these color TVs ==
http://binaryoutcast.com/ | http://thereisonlyxul.org/

lihatt
Hobby Astronomer
Hobby Astronomer
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu, 21 Aug 2014, 18:39
Location: California

Re: Sync giving "Unknown error"

Unread postby lihatt » Thu, 14 May 2015, 20:58

Now I see "Server incorrectly configured." I assume something is in the process of being fiddled with on the back end :)

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 22436
Joined: Sun, 28 Aug 2011, 17:27
Location: 58.5°N 15.5°E
Contact:

Re: Sync giving "Unknown error"

Unread postby Moonchild » Thu, 14 May 2015, 21:16

The status page should not claim the server is running normal. In fact, I just brought it back online from full down state but it's still under very heavy load. expect some more errors.
Improving Mozilla code: You know you're on the right track with code changes when you spend the majority of your time deleting code.

"If you want to build a better world for yourself, you have to be willing to build one for everybody." -- Coyote Osborne

User avatar
x-15a2
Keeps coming back
Keeps coming back
Posts: 825
Joined: Wed, 19 Mar 2014, 00:28
Location: Triskelion

Re: Sync giving "Unknown error"

Unread postby x-15a2 » Fri, 15 May 2015, 14:18

Moonchild wrote:The status page should not claim the server is running normal ...
I can confirm that the page indicated that all was well. Could this be some sort of caching issue?

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 22436
Joined: Sun, 28 Aug 2011, 17:27
Location: 58.5°N 15.5°E
Contact:

Re: Sync giving "Unknown error"

Unread postby Moonchild » Fri, 15 May 2015, 18:47

It's back to normal now so.. yeah that would be right.
I don't know if it would be caching, because the server does not cache that page (for obvious reasons)
Improving Mozilla code: You know you're on the right track with code changes when you spend the majority of your time deleting code.

"If you want to build a better world for yourself, you have to be willing to build one for everybody." -- Coyote Osborne


Return to “Other/future projects”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest