Menu bar/display menu idea

Talk about code development, features, specific bugs, enhancements, patches, and similar things.
Forum rules
Please keep everything here strictly on-topic.
This board is meant for Pale Moon source code development related subjects only like code snippets, patches, specific bugs, git, the repositories, etc.

This is not for tech support! Please do not post tech support questions in the "Development" board!
Please make sure not to use this board for support questions. Please post issues with specific websites, extensions, etc. in the relevant boards for those topics.

Please keep things on-topic as this forum will be used for reference for Pale Moon development. Expect topics that aren't relevant as such to be moved or deleted.
User avatar
fatboy
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 556
Joined: 2017-12-19, 08:03
Location: Canada

Menu bar/display menu idea

Unread post by fatboy » 2019-02-20, 05:28

Good Day Community,

I am trying to hide the menu bar as well as the menu button. Is this possible? You know how Firefox hides the menu bar until you press alt? Is this possible for Pale Moon?

Kind Regards,
fatboy
Systemd Free - MX Linux, Antix Linux & Artix Linux

fillerup

Re: Menu bar/display menu idea

Unread post by fillerup » 2019-02-20, 07:41

by the menu bar do you mean this? it is hidden by default

Image

to hide the menu button use, use the addon Hide Caption Titlebar Plus. i have the latest version (4.1.1) which is not available on any of the addon archives. PM me and i'll send it to you later

Image

User avatar
billmcct
Keeps coming back
Keeps coming back
Posts: 954
Joined: 2012-09-04, 15:19
Location: Costa Rica & Union City Georgia USA

Re: Menu bar/display menu idea

Unread post by billmcct » 2019-02-20, 12:51

I am using "Hide Caption Titlebar Plus 2.8.7rc" which will give you a small button and show the menu bar when moused over.
You can see the small orange button and only extension buttons until you mouse over the orange P button.
If you want this version PM me your email and I will send it with screen shots of the correct settings.
screenshot.20.jpg
http://legacycollector.org/firefox-addo ... index.html
Neither my version or @fillerup's is listed on this page.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The difference between the Impossible and the Possible lies in a man's Determination.
Tommy Lasorda

User avatar
fatboy
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 556
Joined: 2017-12-19, 08:03
Location: Canada

Re: Menu bar/display menu idea

Unread post by fatboy » 2019-02-20, 17:53

When I activate menu bar, I get this:
menu_bar.png
menu_bar.png (13.09 KiB) Viewed 1015 times
When I hide menu bar, I get this:
menu_icon.png
I want only the tabs to show and the menu bar to pop up when I press alt.
Systemd Free - MX Linux, Antix Linux & Artix Linux

User avatar
fatboy
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 556
Joined: 2017-12-19, 08:03
Location: Canada

Re: Menu bar/display menu idea

Unread post by fatboy » 2019-02-20, 17:58

billmcct wrote:I am using "Hide Caption Titlebar Plus 2.8.7rc" which will give you a small button and show the menu bar when moused over.
http://legacycollector.org/firefox-addo ... index.html
Neither my version or @fillerup's is listed on this page.

This add-on works perfectly when I use the default theme. However, it does not when I use White Moon or Photonic :(
Systemd Free - MX Linux, Antix Linux & Artix Linux

User avatar
jars_
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 397
Joined: 2016-12-27, 00:12

Re: Menu bar/display menu idea

Unread post by jars_ » 2019-02-20, 17:58

maybe browser.tabs.drawInTitlebar = false; ?

User avatar
Lootyhoof
Themeist
Themeist
Posts: 1568
Joined: 2012-02-09, 23:35
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Menu bar/display menu idea

Unread post by Lootyhoof » 2019-02-20, 21:34

As you're using Photonic, try this in either userChrome.css or Stylem:

Code: Select all

@namespace url(http://www.mozilla.org/keymaster/gatekeeper/there.is.only.xul);

#appmenu-toolbar-button {
  display: none !important;
}

#toolbar-menubar[autohide="true"] ~ #TabsToolbar .tabbrowser-tab[selected="true"][first-tab] .tab-background {
  border-left: none;
}
This is specific for Linux for those curious. If using a theme other than Photonic you could remove the last section (the #toolbar-menu... one).

User avatar
fatboy
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 556
Joined: 2017-12-19, 08:03
Location: Canada

Re: Menu bar/display menu idea

Unread post by fatboy » 2019-02-21, 02:27

Lootyhoof wrote:

Code: Select all

@namespace url(http://www.mozilla.org/keymaster/gatekeeper/there.is.only.xul);

#appmenu-toolbar-button {
  display: none !important;
}

#toolbar-menubar[autohide="true"] ~ #TabsToolbar .tabbrowser-tab[selected="true"][first-tab] .tab-background {
  border-left: none;
}
Thanks LootyHoof! This worked a treat!
Systemd Free - MX Linux, Antix Linux & Artix Linux

User avatar
badnick
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 670
Joined: 2017-03-23, 19:56

Re: Menu bar/display menu idea

Unread post by badnick » 2019-02-23, 21:22

This addon don't work well if you want to have tabs on bottom (the tabbar under the adressbar)
Windows 10 pro /64 (version 1809)
PM last/64

Locked