Instead of "doesn't know how to open this address" just assume search?

Suggestions and feature requests for the Pale Moon browser

Moderator: satrow

Khatharr
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat, 12 Aug 2017, 21:48

Instead of "doesn't know how to open this address" just assume search?

Postby Khatharr » Sat, 12 Aug 2017, 21:56

I commonly paste search terms (usually straight from code) into the address bar, which almost always worked as expected in FF, but in Pale Moon it's about 50/50 that I get a "I don't know how to open this address" page instead of a search. What do you think about just searching by default in those cases, or maybe just broadening the categories of things that will be searched rather than rejected?

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 20517
Joined: Sun, 28 Aug 2011, 17:27
Location: 58.5°N 15.5°E
Contact:

Re: Instead of "doesn't know how to open this address" just assume search?

Postby Moonchild » Sun, 13 Aug 2017, 08:08

This is why we have a search bar. :) Paste in your search bar if you want to search!
Searching from the address bar on single terms may or may not work, since the browser has to guess from ambiguous input if what you paste is a domain name or search term if there aren't any other indicators. If there's multiple words, it's clear you "intended to search", but for single terms this becomes really ambiguous really quickly.
Improving Mozilla code: You know you're on the right track with code changes when you spend the majority of your time deleting code.

User avatar
Tomaso
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 717
Joined: Thu, 23 Jul 2015, 16:09
Location: Norway

Re: Instead of "doesn't know how to open this address" just assume search?

Postby Tomaso » Sun, 13 Aug 2017, 10:10

Moonchild wrote:This is why we have a search bar.

I agree.
Personally, I prefer the address bar to be as dumb as possible!

User avatar
Avari
Moongazer
Moongazer
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri, 11 Aug 2017, 11:43

Re: Instead of "doesn't know how to open this address" just assume search?

Postby Avari » Sun, 13 Aug 2017, 13:12

hey Khatharr, i recommend the addon "Context Search X". You select your term and after a right click you can pick your search engine from the context menu. (addon-options: set your common searches (eg google) to show directly and the rare ones in a submenu). Thats faster then copy/paste your search term in a bar. I use this all the time.

Image

Image

another great thing for faster searches are custom keywords

example: if you create a bookmark:

"http://www.google.com/search?q=%s"

you can set a key (e.g. "g"). And in the future you can just write "g palemoon" in your addressbar to search for "palemoon" in google. With my keywords i can use e.g. "y" for youtube-Search or "w" if i want to search wikipedia. Really fast - i couldnt live with that anymore. You can do this for any available search, just replace your search term with "%s" and set a key.

Image

Image

.
Arch Linux + i3-wm; Windows 8.1
echo LANG=de_DE.UTF8 > /etc/locale.conf
echo KEYMAP=de-latin1-nodeadkeys > /etc/vconsole.conf
ln -sf /usr/share/zoneinfo/Europe/Berlin /etc/localtime
vim /etc/locale.gen ## uncomment your language
locale-gen
"if something goes wrong at the plant, blame the guy who can't speak english" -Homer Simpson

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 20517
Joined: Sun, 28 Aug 2011, 17:27
Location: 58.5°N 15.5°E
Contact:

Re: Instead of "doesn't know how to open this address" just assume search?

Postby Moonchild » Sun, 13 Aug 2017, 22:23

As an aside, you don't need an extension to use context search; that's part of Pale Moon already -- you can search for the selected text in what is chosen as your current search engine to use.
Attachments
selectsearch.png
Improving Mozilla code: You know you're on the right track with code changes when you spend the majority of your time deleting code.

kosamja
Apollo supporter
Apollo supporter
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun, 28 Aug 2016, 19:14

Re: Instead of "doesn't know how to open this address" just assume search?

Postby kosamja » Tue, 15 Aug 2017, 10:24

Moonchild wrote:Searching from the address bar on single terms may or may not work, since the browser has to guess from ambiguous input if what you paste is a domain name or search term if there aren't any other indicators. If there's multiple words, it's clear you "intended to search", but for single terms this becomes really ambiguous really quickly.


It always works with Omnibar> https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/omnibar/

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 20517
Joined: Sun, 28 Aug 2011, 17:27
Location: 58.5°N 15.5°E
Contact:

Re: Instead of "doesn't know how to open this address" just assume search?

Postby Moonchild » Sat, 19 Aug 2017, 06:34

kosamja wrote:It always works with Omnibar>

All that does is offer omnibar suggestions for addresses and using search. That has nothing to do with actually entering a word in the address bar and launching that (enter/Go). It may avoid the issue of ambiguity but it will require active use of the drop-down instead of trying to open the single-term address (which is what the OP was talking about).
Improving Mozilla code: You know you're on the right track with code changes when you spend the majority of your time deleting code.

Khatharr
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat, 12 Aug 2017, 21:48

Re: Instead of "doesn't know how to open this address" just assume search?

Postby Khatharr » Sun, 01 Oct 2017, 20:26

Avari wrote:hey Khatharr, i recommend the addon "Context Search X". You select your term and after a right click you can pick your search engine from the context menu.


The terms I'm searching are not coming from the browser.

adisib
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 326
Joined: Sat, 13 Jun 2015, 03:34
Location: KY

Re: Instead of "doesn't know how to open this address" just assume search?

Postby adisib » Sun, 01 Oct 2017, 21:27

Not sure if it is a search engine feature or a browser feature, but you can simply prefix anything you type into the url bar with ' ? ' to turn it into a search. If I want to search for "document.evaluate" Pale Moon will think it is an address. But if I type "?document.evaluate" into the url bar then it does a search on Duck Duck Go for "document.evaluate". No uncertainty weather you are searching or not, and don't have to deal with multiple bars.


Return to “Suggestions/feature requests”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests