can't get userChrome to darken new tab background Topic is solved

Users and developers helping users with generic and technical Pale Moon issues on all operating systems.

Moderator: trava90

Forum rules
This board is for technical/general usage questions and troubleshooting for the Pale Moon browser only.
Technical issues and questions not related to the Pale Moon browser should be posted in other boards!
Please keep off-topic and general discussion out of this board, thank you!
jyrki

can't get userChrome to darken new tab background

Unread post by jyrki » 2016-07-24, 16:58

Hi all

So I'm new to palemoon. I've got nothing to bitch about it, and everything is just swell. But I'd like to ask if there's a userChrome expert around willing to give my 'issue' a go.

I do have a sensitivity to brightness coming from a screen. Hardly surprising as after 30 years staring at it, day in day out, that what you get. Anyways, I use stylish (https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/stylish/) nowadays to darken everything. But there's one thing that I've not managed to make dark: the new tab. Blindingly white! and it sears into my eyes everytime.

After a bit of research, apparently I need to put something along the lines of:

#newtab-window {
background-color: #000000 !important;
}

into ~/.moonchild productions/pale moon/4gp4bgdl.personal/chrome/userChrome.css

And after a bunch of iterations / edits / changes, I can't get the new tab page background dark.

Any help / pointers appreciated!

Be happy

Operating system: arch linux x64
Browser version: 26.3.0 (x64)
Theme: https://addons.palemoon.org/themes/complete/darkmoon/
Installed add-ons:
stylish, ublock origin, flashblock and a bunch of other stuff to try fruitlessly protect my privacy
Installed plugins: (about:plugins)
Google Talk Plugin Video Renderer
Google Talk Plugin
Shockwave Flash
IcedTea-Web Plugin (using IcedTea-Web 1.6.2)

Lootyhoof
Themeist
Themeist

Re: can't get userChrome to darken new tab background