Step-by-step instructions for linux build?

Users and developers helping users with generic and technical Pale Moon issues on all operating systems.

Moderator: trava90

Forum rules
This board is for technical/general usage questions and troubleshooting for the Pale Moon browser only.
Technical issues and questions not related to the Pale Moon browser should be posted in other boards!
Please keep off-topic and general discussion out of this board, thank you!
Walter Dnes
Astronaut
Astronaut

Step-by-step instructions for linux build?

Unread post by Walter Dnes » 2015-10-28, 21:41

IANAD (I Am Not A Developer). I'm capable of following basic instructions and doing

./configure --with-this --without-that && make && make install

...and stuff like that. The build instructions at https://www.palemoon.org/sourcecode.shtml are Windows-oriented, and don't include the git pull stuff. Based on other stuff I've built, it should go something like...

(1st time only)
git clone something

The actual build script would contain
=====================
cd my_build_dir
git pull
make clean
PREFIX=${HOME}/.local
CFLAGS="my_flags"
./configure --with-this-feature --without-that-feature etc, etc
make
make install

Can someone please fill in the script for me?
There's a right way
There's a wrong way
And then there's my way

New Tobin Paradigm

Re: Step-by-step instructions for linux build?

Unread post by New Tobin Paradigm » 2015-10-28, 23:12

Yeah.. apparently you didn't bother to read the build instructions for linux on the Pale Moon for Linux website and also assume a mozilla-based codebase is just like any other program. Easy mistake to make for the latter.. not so much for the former.

Consult: http://linux.palemoon.org/help/build/ You can also cross-reference MDN as well. It is actually pretty easy.

Though I must ask why you want to build Pale Moon from source. What distro are you on and what is wrong with the generic package we release?

Walter Dnes
Astronaut
Astronaut