[gr] Pale Moon 24.* language pack

The l10n of Pale Moon. Rawr.
hel86

[gr] Pale Moon 24.* language pack

Unread post by hel86 » 2014-06-21, 19:57

First of all, hello to all! This is my very first post in Pale Moon forum!

I am a Greek student and I have been using Pale Moon for a while, especially after the implementation of "Australis" in Firefox.
So, since there is no Greek language pack for Pale Moon, I thought I could help with the translation of Pale Moon in Greek.

After a quick search in the forum, I found this useful link: http://forum.palemoon.org/viewtopic.php?f=30&t=2023&p=11706&hilit=localization+instructions#p11706.
However, I do not know how to properly edit the .dtd and .properties files and save them as UTF-8.
So, I hoped you could provide me with more information on how to do it.

I hope the translation procedure is not extremely difficult, since I am not really "tech-savvy".
Thanks in advance for your help.

SvenG

Re: [gr] Pale Moon 24.* language pack

Unread post by SvenG » 2014-06-21, 21:11

Open the respective files with a Texteditor and do your translations. As they are already UTF-8 encoded, they should stay UTF-8 encoded when you save them unless you change the encoding, so simply don't change it.

If you are on Windows I would recommend using Notepad++
http://notepad-plus-plus.org/ (free and powerful)
On Linux most default texteditors (like gEdit on Gnome/Ubuntu oder Kate on KDE) should do.

Better not use Microsoft Word, Open Office Writer or similar programs, they could in theory do it as well but they tend to bork it.

hel86

Unread post by hel86 » 2014-06-22, 11:20

Thank you for your immediate response to my question and your helpful advice!

hel86

Unread post by hel86 » 2014-06-22, 14:59

I am uploading the modified files. I hope everything is OK.
Attachments
palemoon.dtd
(3.85 KiB) Downloaded 119 times
palemoon-statusbar-locale-gr.zip
(4.14 KiB) Downloaded 127 times

Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru