[Solved] Very bottom of program shows discolored bar

For discussions specific to the 64-bit version of the browser on Windows.

Moderator: Indalecio

[Solved] Very bottom of program shows discolored bar

Postby Ecks172 » Mon Nov 05, 2012 4:11 am

This occurred the first time I ran the program, before I even installed any add-ons. At the bottom of the screen, there's a 1-pixel tall strip that will show the color of whatever was last occupying that space. Example, if I drag a solid black-colored application over it, the area I dragged over will become black, and stay until I restart Pale Moon. In the attached image, the left-most area is grey because my left-positioned task bar comes out that far, but auto-hides, and the rest blue from my desktop.

This kind of problem isn't a big one, of course, but it's just annoying to look at. How/why could this be happening?

http://s14.postimage.org/is26boxy8/Pale ... Glitch.jpg
Last edited by Ecks172 on Mon Nov 05, 2012 8:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Ecks172
Hobby Astronomer
Hobby Astronomer
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 3:36 am
Location: USA

Re: Very bottom of program show discolored bar that "remembe

Postby Moonchild » Mon Nov 05, 2012 8:57 am

Most likely, it's because the custom theme you use doesn't account for having the URL bar at the bottom in a custom toolbar, combined with how your graphics driver handles accelerated surfaces that are "undefined". You might want to check if this happens with the default theme as well. If so, you might want to check if this happens in Mozilla Firefox too, and if that's the case, you should file a bug at bugzilla.mozilla.org since there's some window metrics that need to be looked at in the underlying Firefox code in that case (which is best left to the people who know that code inside and out).
In the meantime, turning of hardware acceleration might get rid of the annoyance, but will obviously impact your performance a lot.
Please do not send me private messages for anything that could also be posted in the public boards.
User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
 
Posts: 8194
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2011 5:27 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Very bottom of program show discolored bar that "remembe

Postby Ecks172 » Mon Nov 05, 2012 7:57 pm

It doesn't happen in Firefox, and happens with or without the theme. Like I said, it did it in the fresh installation, and before I moved those things to the Status Bar. How can I turn off hardware acceleration?
Ecks172
Hobby Astronomer
Hobby Astronomer
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 3:36 am
Location: USA

Re: Very bottom of program shows discolored bar that "rememb

Postby Blacklab » Mon Nov 05, 2012 11:22 pm

To turn off hardware acceleration navigate to Tools>Options>Advanced>General Tab>Browsing section and untick "Use hardware acceleration when available" box then click OK to save and close Options menu. Restart the browser for the change to take effect. :)

Search finds several "1 pixel gap" bugs have been reported, eg: https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=642851
Blacklab
Lunatic
Lunatic
 
Posts: 725
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 12:14 pm
Location: Scotland UK

Re: Very bottom of program shows discolored bar that "rememb

Postby Ecks172 » Tue Nov 06, 2012 7:13 pm

Hardware acceleration off didn't affect it, but, enabling the Menu Bar did, and I was just getting used to having it off.. Maybe I'll move my navigation items to it. I was going for an extremely minimalist, two toolbar setup (coupled with the auto-hiding taskbar) to give maximum viewing of webpages.

It seems plausible that the area is normally covered by the tip top of the taskbar, so any other position will leave it bare. However, if others are having the issue in Firefox, there has to be another factor, because it never did in FF for me. No, wait! I never had the Menu Bar in Firefox on.. Turning that on brings the 1 pixel strip.
If at all useful to developers, my computer is running Windows 7 Home Premium x64.

Anyway, it's safe to say this is resolved for me. Thanks.
Ecks172
Hobby Astronomer
Hobby Astronomer
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 3:36 am
Location: USA

Re: [Solved] Very bottom of program shows discolored bar

Postby Ecks172 » Thu Nov 15, 2012 4:58 pm

The new update fixed it!
Ecks172
Hobby Astronomer
Hobby Astronomer
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 3:36 am
Location: USA


Return to Pale Moon x64

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests