Left over folders

Users and developers helping users with generic and technical Pale Moon issues on all operating systems.

Moderator: trava90

Forum rules
This board is for technical/general usage questions and troubleshooting for the Pale Moon browser only.
Technical issues and questions not related to the Pale Moon browser should be posted in other boards!
Please keep off-topic and general discussion out of this board, thank you!
billmcct
Keeps coming back
Keeps coming back

Left over folders

Unread post by billmcct » 2012-09-04, 16:06

I have been using PM portable for a few months now and I am really happy with this port of Mozilla. Since I no longer own a computer, I have to use other friends computers as a host for my flash drive portable apps. (Let me clarify: house burned down lost everything.) Most of the systems I use have Win XP and 512 to 768 MB memory. PM tends to run well on these systems since it uses much less memory than FF. Usually under 220 MB with about 20/25 tabs open.
FF portable will use so much memory it tends to freeze these systems.

"I have one question though, Why does PM leave behind two folders on the host drive after closing?"

Specifically;
C:\Documents and Settings\(username)\Application Data\Mozilla
C:\Documents and Settings\(username)\Application Data\Mozilla\Extensions

I mostly use programs from PortableApps.com and they do a good job of cleaning up behind themselves when closed. Although I do use quite a few so called portable programs that IMO aren't portable at all. Leave behind all sorts of files/folders and registry entries.

BTW still using PM 12.3 portable. Tried PM 15 and as Moonchild posted it does not like older profiles and I haven't had time to start rebuilding a new one.

I would appreciate it if someone could confirm this behavior for me.

Thanks, Bill :thumbup:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------