[Solved] Problems with default pm user-agent

Talk about code development, features, specific bugs, enhancements, patches, and similar things.
Forum rules
Please keep everything here strictly on-topic.
This board is meant for Pale Moon source code development related subjects only like code snippets, patches, specific bugs, git, the repositories, etc.

This is not for tech support! Please do not post tech support questions in the "Development" board!
Please make sure not to use this board for support questions. Please post issues with specific websites, extensions, etc. in the relevant boards for those topics.

Please keep things on-topic as this forum will be used for reference for Pale Moon development. Expect topics that aren't relevant as such to be moved or deleted.
Enkidu

[Solved] Problems with default pm user-agent

Unread post by Enkidu » 2014-06-18, 09:54

Hi,

I am new to Palemoon, using "Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:24.0) Gecko/20140612 PaleMoon/24.6.1". Using the original pm user agent for e.g. Google, it results in very limited functionality. Using e.g. "Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:26.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/26.0" I have full functionality! See attachments for details.

So I'd suggest by default to change ua to a more ff like string in order to improve user experience with pm. (Or alternatively implement a choice to switch ua.)

I know experianced users can switch ua. But I's like to support non exp. users!

Tnx in advance,
Enkidu
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Enkidu on 2014-06-18, 12:56, edited 2 times in total.

Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru

Re: Problems with default pm user-agent - improvement needed

Unread post by Moonchild » 2014-06-18, 10:18

By default, Pale Moon includes a "firefox compatibility" part of the UA (which is not present in your UA). Make sure general.useragent.compatmode.firefox is set to true.