[Solved] Auto drop context menu when double clicking text?

Talk about code development, features, specific bugs, enhancements, patches, and similar things.
Forum rules
Please keep everything here strictly on-topic.
This board is meant for Pale Moon source code development related subjects only like code snippets, patches, specific bugs, git, the repositories, etc.

This is not for tech support! Please do not post tech support questions in the "Development" board!
Please make sure not to use this board for support questions. Please post issues with specific websites, extensions, etc. in the relevant boards for those topics.

Please keep things on-topic as this forum will be used for reference for Pale Moon development. Expect topics that aren't relevant as such to be moved or deleted.
petrus

[Solved] Auto drop context menu when double clicking text?

Unread post by petrus » 2013-12-04, 20:01

I just switched from Opera, where if you double click on some text, it is not just highlighted
but the context menu also drops automatically, without the user having to right click by hand.

That's the request... Thanks & first post!

Edit: Solution found... and there are even two ways to get this exact behavior:

1. With the "DoubleClick ContextMenu" Opera like double click extension
2. Or by just setting "ui.click_hold_context_menus" in "about:config" to "true"

Big thanks to Blacklab for both tips!
Last edited by petrus on 2014-05-18, 05:39, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 35640
Joined: 2011-08-28, 17:27
Location: Motala, SE

Re: Auto drop context menu when double clicking text?

Unread post by Moonchild » 2013-12-04, 20:26

Thanks for offering a suggestion, but that's not something that's going to be implemented.

Pale Moon responds not only to double-click, but also to triple-click, for example; it would interfere with that.
Also, opening a context menu without giving the normal command to do so (either context-button on the keyboard or right-clicking) makes for ambiguity in controls that I'm avoiding where I can. Double-click to select a word, triple-click to select a line/paragraph, then right-click to perform context actions with the mouse or a key combination to perform tasks with the selected text is the design here.

In short: different product, different controls.
"Sometimes, the best way to get what you want is to be a good person." -- Louis Rossmann
"Seek wisdom, not knowledge. Knowledge is of the past; wisdom is of the future." -- Native American proverb
"Linux makes everything difficult." -- Lyceus Anubite

petrus

Re: Auto drop context menu when double clicking text?

Unread post by petrus » 2013-12-04, 21:03

Ok that makes sense. Also, is this something hard-coded or can it be done, adding one contentAreaContextMenu somewhere...

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 35640
Joined: 2011-08-28, 17:27
Location: Motala, SE

Re: Auto drop context menu when double clicking text?

Unread post by Moonchild » 2013-12-04, 22:02

You should be able to do this through an add-on (either existing or by creating a new one). You may want to have a look through https://addons.mozilla.org/
"Sometimes, the best way to get what you want is to be a good person." -- Louis Rossmann
"Seek wisdom, not knowledge. Knowledge is of the past; wisdom is of the future." -- Native American proverb
"Linux makes everything difficult." -- Lyceus Anubite

Blacklab
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1081
Joined: 2012-06-08, 12:14

Re: Auto drop context menu when double clicking text?

Unread post by Blacklab » 2013-12-05, 00:31

DoubleClick ContextMenu 1.0 - was an "Opera like double click context menu" Add-on but seems long since abandoned?

BTW - A curious hangover from Netscape days in about:config - see mozillaZine's KB: http://kb.mozillazine.org/Ui.click_hold_context_menus
(The preference "ui.click_hold_context_menus" already exists set to "false" (default). Set to "true" the context menu appears on "click + hold")

petrus

Re: Auto drop context menu when double clicking text?

Unread post by petrus » 2013-12-05, 07:13

Thanks Blacklab, the extension may be abandoned but it does still work! and so does the command.

petrus

Re: Auto drop context menu when double clicking text?

Unread post by petrus » 2014-05-18, 05:15

>Thanks for offering a suggestion, but that's not something that's going to be implemented.

What about just putting "ui.click_hold_context_menus" into the Commander/Advanced options?
It's right there ripe for the picking, it extends usability and replaces one extension, win win win.

Let's give this "hangover from the Netscape days" it's proper due!

And in combination with "Context Search X" I'm able to completely replicate my context menu from Opera:
Image

Edit: With Context Search X one can just right click a word, without highlighting anything, to search!
Image

In both cases, left clicking on a search engine searches in a background tab, right click in current.

User avatar
Antonius32
Add-ons Team
Add-ons Team
Posts: 695
Joined: 2014-05-25, 11:18
Location: Netherlands

Re: [Solved] Auto drop context menu when double clicking tex

Unread post by Antonius32 » 2014-08-06, 10:50

Off-topic:
@petrus: I'm sorry for replying on this old topic, but how come your context menu doesn't show Context Search X's submenu, nor it's 'Manage Engines' item?

petrus

Re: [Solved] Auto drop context menu when double clicking text?

Unread post by petrus » 2017-01-03, 01:30

I'm sorry for overlooking the question and taking a couple of years to answer it, the "manage engines" context menu entry was removed using this stylish script:

Code: Select all

menuitem[label="Manage Engines…"][class="contextsearchx"] {display: none !important; }
A few other things are also removed:

Code: Select all

#context-inspect {display: none !important;}
#inspectThisFrame {display: none !important;}
#inspectThisPage {display: none !important;}
#inspect-separator {display: none !important;}